Click to enlarge

Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion

A unique facial toner for oily skin.

Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion

A unique facial toner for oily skin.

Click to enlarge

  • Select Size

Total: $18.00

Availability:

In Stock

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today

You're missing out!

Join Kiehl’s Rewards today

$1 spent = 1 point

Product details
Soothe and balance skin with our iconic facial toner for oily skin. This unique facial toner, formulated with Menthol and Camphor, can be used all over or as a spot treatment. Our astringent lotion is also effective as an aftershave for men’s skin. Just ask for the Blue Stuff!
  • Effectively balances and soothes oily-prone areas
  • Can be used as a spot treatment on problem areas or over the entire face
  • Helps soothe men’s skin when used as an aftershave lotion
  • Formulated with Camphor, Menthol and Sodium PCA
  • For oily skin
  • Originally formulated in 1964
Print
How to Apply Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion

Heritage Highlight
When our chemists developed Kiehl’s iconic multi-purpose facial toner in 1964, its popularity took off almost from the start. Over 50 years later, we attribute its appeal to not only its superior quality, but also its versatility as a toner for oily skin and as an aftershave lotion. Legend has it that Andy Warhol was a fan!
Key Ingredients
Camphor

Camphor

Derived from an eastern evergreen tree, Camphor is known to give a cooling effect to the skin. It is commonly used in skincare products for oily skin.

Menthol

Menthol

Menthol is an invigorating ingredient known to provide an instant refreshing feeling to skin.

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA, a key component in skin’s natural moisturizing factor, is a humectant ingredient derived from Amino Acids. Well known for its moisture-binding capacity, it helps condition skin within our formulas.

See Full List
Print
Soothe and balance skin with our iconic facial toner for oily skin. This unique facial toner, formulated with Menthol and Camphor, can be used all over or as a spot treatment. Our astringent lotion is also effective as an aftershave for men’s skin. Just ask for the Blue Stuff!
  • Effectively balances and soothes oily-prone areas
  • Can be used as a spot treatment on problem areas or over the entire face
  • Helps soothe men’s skin when used as an aftershave lotion
  • Formulated with Camphor, Menthol and Sodium PCA
  • For oily skin
  • Originally formulated in 1964
Print
How to Apply Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion

Heritage Highlight
When our chemists developed Kiehl’s iconic multi-purpose facial toner in 1964, its popularity took off almost from the start. Over 50 years later, we attribute its appeal to not only its superior quality, but also its versatility as a toner for oily skin and as an aftershave lotion. Legend has it that Andy Warhol was a fan!
Print
Camphor

Camphor

Derived from an eastern evergreen tree, Camphor is known to give a cooling effect to the skin. It is commonly used in skincare products for oily skin.

Menthol

Menthol

Menthol is an invigorating ingredient known to provide an instant refreshing feeling to skin.

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA, a key component in skin’s natural moisturizing factor, is a humectant ingredient derived from Amino Acids. Well known for its moisture-binding capacity, it helps condition skin within our formulas.

See Full List
Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 75.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Formula change It was great but new heavy alcohol formula doesn’t clean skin oil well. It’s aad but it doesn’t do the job now.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A lifesaver I've struggled with oily skin and cystic acne for more than 10 years. I've tried topical treatments (Differen, Aczone) and Accutane (not just once, but twice... that's how bad). I went to Kiehl's after using a product at a place I was staying. The employee sent me home with a sample of this blue stuff with advice to use as a spot treatment and wow. Like, wow. Within days, pimples zapped, blackheads GONE, oil under control. Now I use it all over my face. It's an essential part of my regimen. Kiehl's, you have a customer for life.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oil Control Does Not Last Long At first it felt really dry on the face and no excess oil however after a few hours it made my face really oily and shiny. Although it did prevent some breakouts but caused my pores to get larger. Will not buy again
Date published: 2018-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for me! Unfortunately this toner is a bit harsh on my sensitive skin. My skin goes very red after use! Definitely will try the oil free timer next, maybe it will sit my skin more :)
Date published: 2018-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best toner for acne ever This is so far the best toner for acne skin I have ever used. I purchased this one a while ago, and almost half bottle is gone. My skin apparently gets so much better. I felt like my skin got less oil and the pimples became dried and pop off after a week. However, I don’t know if the alcohol ingredient has any effect on my skin after I stop using it
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best treatment for spots I've tried everything and this is the best thing to get rid of spots and refine pores. I find laying a cotton pad soaked in this blue magic over a spot and leaving it on for as long as possible dries the spot out completely and redness will be gone within an hour.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game changer I purchased this thinking it was a cream/moisturiser. But it turns out it is more of a toner. I love it!!!! You can literally feel it instantly drying out your spots to zap them away! Your skin feels intensely clean after using this product! Would highly recommend this product aswell as all the other blue herbal products
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for my daughter who has acne probe skin. Since she started using it her face has really started to shiw clearing
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best product for oily skin I had experienced with oily face and acne for a long time . This is reason why I feel so uncomfortable with other product, always ineffective. When my friend recommend this product to me, I was kind of doubt while taking a chance to try it. The result of trying this product has been satisfied with my expectation. This is the best product for OIL-FREE EVER.
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clears skin QUICKLY, gives confidence Bought this last week when I had a breakout after one day of use I immediately saw an improvement! It cools the skin and gets rid of redness. It can be dry but that helps get rid of spots too but it came with a free moisturiser which is a pro:)) its à Life saver that's reliable !
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love this stuff for clearing up acne. Only use it on spots as opposed to the whole face because I don't want to dry my skin completely out. Suggest using a moisturizer afterward.
Date published: 2016-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blue Astringent Herbal (Spot Treatment Alternative) Toner I can only suggest to use this product as a spot treatment only. Put a little bit on a cotton pad and use on acne spots. This product has a lot of Alcohol in it and more than likely will dry out your face. So for the love of all that is holy, use a moisturizer afterwords. You may ask, why not just use a spot treatment specifically labeled as a spot treatment? Some people may notice that their products that worked before don't work anymore - Their skin is probably becoming immune to it. This Astringent becomes a great alternative! Also, don't be fooled by the word "lotion" in the name. Just a play on words as most toners in other countries are called Lotions.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cooling, and clearing When you initially put this on your skin, it feels cooling and refreshing. I would suggest you only put it on the areas that are troublesome, instead of your whole face. It can be over drying which caused my skin to overproduce oil I think. But I will continue to use it as a spot treatment instead of all over.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Way Too Strong Let it first be said that I do not have acne-prone skin, though I have battled oily skin my entire life. Oddly enough, this product seemed to stimulate my oil production. It has a stripping effect on the skin, and while this can be useful to aid in the clearing of a blemish or to cut down on ingrown hairs, the Blue Herbal Spot Treatment is a better option. I figured that this product would be a miracle for my oily skin, so it was a disappointment to find that it actually seemed to make me oilier. And for the money, honestly, a drugstore astringent has the same effect for half the price.
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clears up acne I bought this product because I'd heard it is good for oily, blemish-prone skin. Since using the product, I've had no new breakouts - it really is a fantastic toner! I use this product after cleansing with the ultra facial oil-free cleanser, and it has made a marked difference in my skin's appearance. I use the product after shaving too, and it reduces any redness. It is a fantastic all-round product and I'll continue to purchase it!
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAYBE YOUR OLDEST/LONGEST CUSTOMER?? IT COMPLETES MY SHAVING CHORE EVERY MORNING IT SEALS IN MY WET SHAVE, BEING BALD I NOW ALSO APPLY LIQUID TO THE TOP OF MY HEAD/NECK ..ALL OVER..IT LEAVES ME VITALISED AND READY FOR THE DAYS HAPPENINGS. WITHOUT IT MY MORNINGS ARE GRUMPY..**THIS HAS HAPPENED WHEN MY BOTTLE WAS JUDGED TOO LARGE AT AIRPORT CUSTOMS & CONFISCATED...DO YOU HAVE A 100ML SIZE ONE??
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mattifying But Not Good With All Moisturizers I decided to try this out based on the reviews I had read. I have extremely oily skin and am prone to cystic pimples. It has definitely controlled the acne because I haven't really gotten any significant deep pimples since using this. It has a really good texture and cool feeling when applied. My skin instantly feels soft. However, it has been hit or miss with different moisturizers I use on top of it. Like other reviewers mentioned, it does ball up. It works fine with the Herbal Blue Moisturizer but when I've used it under the Ultra Oil free Gel Cream, it balls up. I also like to mix my BB cream with moisturizer but when I apply it after this toner, I really have to rub it in well in order for it to not be streaky. But Once it is all rubbed in, it looks fine. Using it with a regular moisturizer then powder foundation is fine. I will just use this at night until I run out and probably just use a different Kiehl's toner.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely product that keeps skin in tip top condition... This stuff is legendary, and has been around longer than Methuselah! I don't use it every day, but maybe once a week or so, it feels refreshing on my skin, and keeps errant spots and imperfections at bay. I apply it like a 'splash on' aftershave, none of this cotton wool rubbish! Just empty a good dollop on the palm of your hand, and 'splash it' all over your face...
Date published: 2015-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase I Have Ever Made I have always had good skin, except for my chin! Every month I have a painful breakout on my chin. I have been to dermatologists and have tried everything! Now in my mid-twenties I thought the breakouts would have finally stopped and they hadn't. I wandered into Kiehls on a whim with a friend as I was passing by it in the mall and figured "Why not?". I spoke with the sales girl who was so sweet! She spent so much time with me and recommended this product. I am happy to say I have not had a single pimple on my chin for 6 months now! I use this product only on my chin, twice a day. My skin is not over dried and is perfectly clear. Kiehls is now my go-to place for skin care products.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver for acne sufferers I can't rave about this product enough. I got three free samples of this when I bough the blue astringent herbal cleanser, and I saw drastic results overnight. It just soothes the skin, clears redness and shrinks spots, as well as reducing scarring. It's a great smell, I love the colour of the lotion too, it removes all excess makeup that the cleanser may not remove and is all round a complete must have for acne sufferers.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oil free product My skin is oily skin type, this product helps me remove oil on surface ,good product to recommend
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Swear by this astringent! Love this product since I discovered it 17 years ago. I have very oily skin and when I get lazy from my routine from this I definitely breakout. Blue Herbal has always cleared it up easily. I have tried drugstore bought astringent to try to save money and never got the same result as I do from this product.
Date published: 2014-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Very useful when the first time I put it on and the next day I woke up and found it worked!
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i finished one bottle! I am teenager and my skin is not quite stable ,at first it was rather oily. i went to kiehls cause i just found this shop looks pretty cool and i just told the sales that i have quite a lot of troubles and have oily skin so she recommend this product to me and i just purchased it .(so brave lol) I tried it right away that day, I just poured it on the cotton pad and I just wipe the spot for a couple of times, pour some more and i just put in on my spot for a while. Repeating around 4 times or until the spot is kind of going down (like the bump is fading) The next day the bump and the redness is gone but there's still a hint of mark but that was like miracle to me haha and day 3, it's gone!!! i really liked it! and i got one for my friends birthday as well she loved it too! Used it for 1 year with 250ml !!! going to repurchase!!!!!!!!!! DON'T PUT IT ON YOUR ENTIRE FACE JUST PUT IT ON YOUR SPOTS (it really dries out your skin cuz i found out i actually have dry skin)
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lotion? Not sure why this is called a lotion. Results were just like an expensive Sea Breeze. Worked ok but not worth the price.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty good I got this about a week ago, and its really nice my skin is looking good! It is a bit strong, as in drying so i just ordered the Calendula herbal extract toner. but I'll still use the blue stuff for when i need a good deep cleaning. It leaves my skin feeling a little tight so i recommend following with a moisturizer. It does contain alcohol so i won't use it everyday, but it really do like it. I recommend it to people with really oily skin like me. Has a bit of cooling menthol sensation so you really feel like you're getting your pore deep cleaned!
Date published: 2014-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cheap packaging I like the product okay-- it doesn't leave my skin too dry or tight, but the cap broke the first time I opened the bottle. For $18 I expect the cap to last more than one use. :(
Date published: 2013-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent toner! I've used this product as a toner and cleanser for my skin for years. I have combination normal/oily skin and I remember when I first purchased this product at Kiehl's the sales person said that it may be too harsh to use regularly. I'm happy to say that they were mistaken. I use this blue stuff after washing my face both morning and night. My pores are clean and tight! It really does cleanse well without drying out the skin. My face is never oily anymore. This is one of my favorite Kiehl's products.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and True I have been using this for years, in addition to the Facial Fuel Energizing Face Wash and Facial Fuel moisturizer and love the results. This is one of the first Kiehl's products that I tried and have been using it loyally for the years since. It is a great post-shave toner without your skin feeling over-dried.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for acne without the burn As I got further along in my thirties, I started having worse acne than when I was a teenager. I am also a professional dancer, constantly sweating or wearing heavy makeup- all leading to more acne. Yet toners and cleansers made for breakouts are always too harsh on my "aging" skin, so I decided to try this one. I had used the Kielhs cucumber toner for years, which I still love, but this blue astringent is gentle enough for my skin, even with the alcohol, and finally cleared my acne. It feels so refreshing and calms the skin as well . Awesome product!
Date published: 2013-10-06
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_74
  • loc_, sid_250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 124ms
  • reviews, product

where's the blue herbal gel cleanser?

Asked by: Lisa Mueller

Is it safe for pregnant women?

Asked by: Anonymous

Which toner is better for 15 years old boy with acne?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi, I am a big fan of this product. At 53 I use it until this day. In my early 20s Aaron Morse gave me a bottle to me at the gym. His family created the product. It is great if applied with a swap or dab the acne spot. You may want to add Blue Herbal Spot Treatment and Acne Blemish Control. These are all must haves. Hope this helps.
Answered by: Timothy Morris
Date published: 2018-01-31

My boyfriend has extremely oily skin and has acne prone skin especially on the nose. He bought the ultra oil free facewash from Kiehls and likes it so will this product be good for him? Does it decrease acne while keeping the skin oil free?

Asked by: Anonymous
For me, this face wash is excellent at keeping the oil at bay. I don't have a lot of acne, so I can't speak about that.
Answered by: Alexis Lavko
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this product exfoliate the skin?

Asked by: Nicole Huer
No, it doesn't exfoliate. I use it as a toner after washing my face, but it does not exfoliate. There's a product in the men's line that I've used that's a great exfoliant. Even though it's made for men with beards/facial hair, I have found it great to work on women's skin. But I only use it 1-2xs per week. I can't remember the name but it's in a blue tube.
Answered by: April Thomas
Date published: 2018-01-31

How many times i have to use it?

Asked by: Anonymous
I use the product after washing my face and prior to applying lotion-it also works great as an aftershave to prevent ingrown hairs. Most days, I use it in the morning and at night.
Answered by: George Hegarty
Date published: 2018-01-31

How does this product differ from the Christoper Makos astringent lotion?

Asked by: Herbert Jacobson
It had many uses. Great after shave. Lasts a long time.
Answered by: Nicholas Ragusa
Date published: 2018-01-31

I have G6PD deficiency. Can I use this product?

Asked by: Anonymous
I don't know, please consult with your doctor about the specific substance or ingredient that you should avoid, and see if Blue Astringent Herbal lotion has it. But I think it is ok because this is a skin product that you will not ingest in nor will you swallow or need to be metabolized in the body.
Answered by: Jungsheng Su
Date published: 2018-01-31

I have G-6-P-D. Can I use this product?

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this good after shaving your head?

Asked by: Santos Hernandez
Yes. It does the job of a good astringent but is also soothing. I do not need an added moisturizer after.
Answered by: James M. DeRosa
Date published: 2018-01-31

Can i used it and herbal cleanser with kiehl's ultra facial cream and over night hydrating masque?

Asked by: Lala Mimi

how much salicylic acid does this have in it?

Asked by: sara johnson
Really good question and Im not sure. Might be best to ask one of the reps at your local store for confirmation.
Answered by: Robert Ford
Date published: 2018-01-31

Will this toner help,shrink pores?

Asked by: Anonymous
Not sure about shrinking pores, but look, it works great on pimples and acne. If you have serious acne, probably not, but I use it for any skin irritations, bites, dirt, and pimples. It works wonders. It really does. Soak some of it on a cotton ball and apply to your face or arms, etc.
Answered by: Richard Chiang
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this have salicylic acid in it?

Asked by: Anonymous
yes
Answered by: michael bequette
Date published: 2018-01-31

how do i use it?

Asked by: Anonymous
Daily - it is the best toner/ cleanser. I've been using it for 20+ years.
Answered by: denise toppi
Date published: 2018-01-31

is this alcohol based?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes.
Answered by: Matt Bailey
Date published: 2018-01-31

is it alcohol. free?

Asked by: ELVIS CHEN
No, it is not.
Answered by: Matt Bailey
Date published: 2018-01-31

What are your best bacne products? I have had bacne for the past 1.5 years and it is just time for it to go- I miss wearing strapless party dresses!

Asked by: Anonymous
This is a tried and true product. I have been using it for 20 years and now my 15 year old son uses it for his acne. He is 95% clear skin most of the time and we have turned on many of his classmates to it. A little goes a long way so it is also very cost effective. Good Luck!
Answered by: Tara Langworthy
Date published: 2018-01-31

i have acne problem for about 10 years, it comes back and forth ? will this product work for me ?

Asked by: Anonymous
not sure about acne, but have been using it for years and it really helps to keep my face in good shape after repeated shaves
Answered by: James Spellman
Date published: 2018-01-31

does this product contain camphor? do you sell compahor in small quantities so I can make my own tonic?

Asked by: Anonymous

Hey. I am wondering if there is any alcohol in this toner/lotion? Thank you!

Asked by: Solbjørg Lätt Furholt
According to ingredients on the bottle, there is denatured alcohol.
Answered by: Daniel Lin
Date published: 2018-01-31

If I put on other lotions or creams after this toner, there will be a lot of white flakes on my face. Please the right way to use this toner. before lotions/creams or after lotions/cream?? thanks

Asked by: yan long
I've used this for years and have never had an issue.... let it dry; you may feel tightness but all is good - it's working. Are you know following up with a kiehls product? could be your problem.
Answered by: denise toppi
Date published: 2018-01-31

I have the same problem as one of product reviews dated 17 Dec 2011 -- but if I put on other lotions or creams after this toner, then the white flakes are on my skin This product not suitable for me ? yr reply please

Asked by: sasa chan
On the label for each Kiehl’s Since 1851 formulation you’ll see instructions to conduct the “Kiehl’s Patch Test” before using the product. We advise that before applying any new product, you should test a small amount of any product to check its compatibility with your skin. While you may be eager to try your new product, this cautionary step is always good idea. Should you ever buy anything from us that is not pleasing to you, you may return any of our products, to the original point of purchase, for a full 100% money-back guarantee.
Answered by: Kiehl's Alex
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2019, m_7, d_21, h_6CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_28
  • loc_, sid_250, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 76ms
  • questions, product