Click to enlarge

Blue Herbal Moisturizer

Blemish fighting moisturizer that helps fight acne blemishes

Blue Herbal Moisturizer

Blemish fighting moisturizer that helps fight acne blemishes

Click to enlarge

Total: $25.00

Availability:

Out of stock.

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today

You're missing out!

Join Kiehl’s Rewards today

$1 spent = 1 point

Product details
  • Mattifies skin, reducing the appearance of pores and leaving skin with a matte, hydrated appearance and texture
  • Non-comedogenic formulation helps prevent new acne blemishes from forming
Print
How to Apply:
  • Cleanse the skin thoroughly before applying moisturizer
  • Cover the entire affected area with a thin layer one to three times daily
  • Because excessive drying of the skin may occur, start with one application daily, then gradually increase to two or three times daily if needed or as directed by a doctor
  • If bothersome dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once every day or every other day

Cool Kiehl’s Fact:
  • When our chemists developed Kiehl’s iconic Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion in 1964, its popularity took off almost from the start. Over forty years later, we attribute its appeal not only to its superior quality, but also its versatility. Kiehl’s male patrons tell us they use it as a post-shave treatment to soothe skin and prevent razor discomfort. Legend has it that Andy Warhol was a fan!
Key Ingredients
Cinnamon Bark Extract

Cinnamon Bark Extract

Cinnamon Bark Extract is taken from the dried bark of cultivated trees and is considered to be of much higher quality than extract derived from leaves. It contains an essential oil that is not only recognized for its soothing effects, but is also known to have antibacterial properties.

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA, a key component in skin’s natural moisturizing factor, is a humectant ingredient derived from Amino Acids. Well known for its moisture-binding capacity, it helps condition skin within our formulas.

See Full List
Print
  • Mattifies skin, reducing the appearance of pores and leaving skin with a matte, hydrated appearance and texture
  • Non-comedogenic formulation helps prevent new acne blemishes from forming
Print
How to Apply:
  • Cleanse the skin thoroughly before applying moisturizer
  • Cover the entire affected area with a thin layer one to three times daily
  • Because excessive drying of the skin may occur, start with one application daily, then gradually increase to two or three times daily if needed or as directed by a doctor
  • If bothersome dryness or peeling occurs, reduce application to once every day or every other day

Cool Kiehl’s Fact:
  • When our chemists developed Kiehl’s iconic Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion in 1964, its popularity took off almost from the start. Over forty years later, we attribute its appeal not only to its superior quality, but also its versatility. Kiehl’s male patrons tell us they use it as a post-shave treatment to soothe skin and prevent razor discomfort. Legend has it that Andy Warhol was a fan!
Print
Cinnamon Bark Extract

Cinnamon Bark Extract

Cinnamon Bark Extract is taken from the dried bark of cultivated trees and is considered to be of much higher quality than extract derived from leaves. It contains an essential oil that is not only recognized for its soothing effects, but is also known to have antibacterial properties.

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA

Sodium PCA, a key component in skin’s natural moisturizing factor, is a humectant ingredient derived from Amino Acids. Well known for its moisture-binding capacity, it helps condition skin within our formulas.

See Full List
Blue Herbal Moisturizer is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 57.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Purchase I first bought this in early 2016 I believe and I am now purchasing my third bottle. I love this product! It helped to clear away my acne, which was terrible at the time, but it also helps to keep my skin hydrated. I have never had any success trying moisturizers that were also for acne, but this one is amazing and it works! It's also great if you wear makeup as it goes on matte and drys fast. Each bottle lasts around 2 months for me I think and it's reasonably priced.
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not The Best.. Personally I felt that this moisturizer is a little drying on my skin. I can't say I noticed a huge difference with my acne, but I can say that it didn't get worse. The texture is nice and the scent is decent. I think I prefer the Ultra Facial Oil-Free Lotion instead.
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Greta product with some flaws... i really do love this product it has been one of the factors that I have been using in which has helped my acne concern but, the only bad thing of this product I would say is that when I do use it and mostly in the morning, I find my face with some really bad flakes and it's embarrassing when I go out. so I figure, I'm just going to use this product at night and have another moisturizer for the morning.
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from waste of money I was excited to try this product and as soon as I used it I broke up which I didn't expect, I carried on using it and it just made my acne worse and face my face feel itchy and sensitive and appear red and blotchy. I stopped using it but now and again use it when my skin is extra dry and each time regret it because it makes my skin feel so gross! wouldn't recommend especially for the price, maybe try it if your acne isn't that bad and you don't have sensitive skin at all.
Date published: 2016-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great lotion for acne I really like this lotion I think it works great for acne I also use a few other kiehls acne products as my skin regimen. But for this lotion I would recommend it especially if your skin is dry because it doesn't make your skin oily and I've noticed a difference in my skin it looks brighter and I have less breakouts. The only thing is that if your using it in the day time before you apply your makeup you need to let it dry for about 3 minutes.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why have I waited so long to try this??? I have extremely oily skin in my t-zone, blemishes always and dryness in select patches in the winter. This is the first and only moisturizer that deals with all three of those issues beautifully, AND works well under makeup.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well My first kiehls product and thought it to be medicinal. works well and does leave a matte finnish, although there are small shiny flakes in the mix which shows. being a guy i didnt notice it until a long time after. i got the green bottle and use it more for daily. ill keep this if i need it, i also have a bottle of the after shave lotion which works very well and is a great substitute for this in my opinion. i think i would have had better skin if there were smaller cheaper bottles for everything. hope to see that soon, one of these sat on my shelf for over 3 years. kept it with me even with consistent traveling until it was out.
Date published: 2015-12-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I love all of Kiehls products. But this one was a disappointment. I broke out from it and it just felt greasy. I'll stick with my regular products. It was just a waste of money.
Date published: 2015-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for summer months! I live in Texas and have oily/combination skin. I use this about 6 months out of the year - mid-spring to mid-fall - along with the Herbal Blue cleanser. And I love it! It helps prevent breakouts. I don't typically have full-blown acne, but this helps control mini-breakouts around my hairline, chin and other sensitive areas. For me, the Blue Herbal products are a little drying during the fall and winter, so I switch over to the Ultra Facial Cleanser then. But for the hot and humid months, this is the best! I never have issues with flaking - I just wait until it dries to put on makeup. That should solve the problem - treat it the same as you do primer.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Nursing Student's Salvation!! This stuff is amazing!!! I have oily, acne-prone skin and am a nursing student, which means I'm under a crazy amount of non-stop stress and am often lacking in the hydration department. Meaning that I'm often breaking out. I used to use other products (from other companies that I don't need to mention on here) and decided to give this a try. This has saved my skin! Now I only need to wash my face with traditional black soap, maybe use a toner if I am feeling up to it, and applying this to my face and my face is acne-free! It is such a blessing to have this to save my skin. Now I hardly wear make up, and when I do, I almost can't wait to wash it off because this makes my skin so beautiful. Ugh, yes! Thank you!
Date published: 2015-04-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mattifying and Good Texture I use this along with the Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion and they work very well together. I have extremely oily skin and my skin feels very soft after using these products together. For someone anything but oily skin, this might feel too dry for you. I feel like it may be a bit drying on me because after a while, my skin produces quite a bit of oil to compensate which is not the case when I use other regimens from the Kiehl's line. This goes on really smooth but be sure you rub it in well bec if you don't, it will leave white flakes.
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lucky Charm This moisturizer is amazing. I have awful, uncontrollable, shiny, oily skin. I use this product in conjunction with the plumping serum first, followed by the pore minimizer. This goes on last, before my makeup. I let it dry for about 3 minutes before applying my makeup. I have noticed a few flakes when I exfoliate my skin at night, but in a good way. I have used this for only 4 days and my acne is subsiding. My skin feels plump and hydrated, and very soft!
Date published: 2015-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from not as bad as everyone says it is I got a sample of this and where I work I have to wear makeup. This DOES NOT make your makeup flake off or whatever other reviews have said. If you truly have oily acne prone skin then this is perfect for you. Maybe the other people who say make it flake off don't wear primer under their makeup, I don't know. But honestly I love this moisturizer. it makes my skin silky smooth and it does mattify like the description says. I have noticed I don't get as many blemishes anymore but I use the Blue Herbal cleanser as well.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this stuff I read the reviews before purchasing this, but decided to try anyway. I noticed that you get the peeling if you rub it in too much. I find it odd, but i just put it on and let it soak in and it doesn't peel-even under my makeup. I've also found that you should exfoliate at least twice a week and it'll soak in better, thus getting rid of the film. I love this stuff and it has helped my acne more than anything else.
Date published: 2014-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good but not under makeup I like that this stuff is mattifying, but as far as it going well under makeup? .... not so much. When being applied under makeup this stuff will peel off leaving your skin looking like you have a nasty peeling sunburn underneath. I would however recommend using this when you do not plan on wearing makeup over, it mattifies and it stays that way for a long time... even with my oily skin.
Date published: 2014-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, though pricey! I'm in my early 30s and I still get bad spots, which is embarrassing. I put benzoyl peroxide on my face twice daily to control it - it helps a great deal, but doesn't stop the spots entirely. This is a really excellent product, though expensive. It doesn't moisturise much, so is specifically for people, like me, with oily skin. I wouldn't buy this if you have dry skin, and it might also not be moisturising enough for winter. Combining this with benzoyl peroxide seems to really be helping with my acne though. It also seems to have made my skin smoother, though perhaps this is just my imagination... It can leave little crystals of something (not sure what this is!?) on your face, but you can just brush these off once it dries. I've never spent this much on a moisturiser before, but I think I'm now hooked and will have to get some more once it runs out. I might try the other products in this line too if they are as effective as this
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good just got this today i used the epidermal re-texurizing micro-dermabrasion and the blue astringent herbal lotion and finished with the blue herbal moisturizer! and my face feels really nice :) i have really oily and acne prone skin and think this is going to work well with my skin.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not good! This moisturizer neither moisturizes my skin nor gets rid of my acnes. It also can't be absorbed well. I can see the white stuff on my skin after applying it. No effect at all. It is definitely a waste of money!!
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just Good When used with the Blue Astringent Herbal Lotion it leaves a white cast/film on your skin especially if you don't rub it in thoroughly. I've bought the astringent and the moisturizer for my boyfriend as well and the same thing happens to him. If you try to wear makeup (foundation) over the white film residue it'll flake off and look gross. It's fine if you put a sunscreen on top of the toner (I use Super Fluid UV Defense SPF 50+) then use the moisturizer but then I find myself getting oily pretty fast. I have acne-prone, very oily skin and I feel that this moisturizer is best used at night (when the white flakiness won't matter). It does help a bit with my acne and feels quite refreshing with the toner. It is also provides the perfect amount of moisture, doesn't leave my skin feeling dry but doesn't leave my skin feeling sticky. On its own, or with a different toner, it does as it says in the description (Mattifies skin, reducing the appearance of pores and leaving skin with a matte, hydrated appearance and texture). I've been using this for a little over a year now but I'm switching to the Sodium PCA Oil-Free Moisturizer and the Cucumber Herbal Alcohol-Free Toner so that I don't have to deal with the white flaky film since I'm a religious makeup user.
Date published: 2013-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps skin clear This has been a lifesaver for me! I have extremely oily skin that is acne-prone and also sensitive, and this really keeps my face clear and matte. I can only use it in the summer months though (I use the oil-free gel moisturizer in the winter) when I'm the most shiny! It absorbs almost instantly and is perfectly matte, basically I stopped using a primer since this works so well under my makeup.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad It's the best moisturizer i have used so far, It feels good on the skin and is lightweight and it reduces the amount of oiliness. However i was hoping this product would reduce redness but it doesn't for me, I have bad acne/oily prone skin. Aswell i just don't see any reduction in my pore size, I have been using this twice a day for more than two weeks and i haven't seen any overall changes. It's an OK moistrizer anyone who's interested should definitely give it a try if you don't mind spending £26...It might be a miracle product for someone else out there, but nothing I try works that well : /
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light and moisturized lotion My skin is dried in the winter and is combined type in the summer. The pores on my face are quite visible and sometimes I have acnes in the summer. Before trying blue herbal moisturizer, I am afraid it would be too dried for me. Surprisingly I found the lotion is quickly absorbed by my skin and leave a my skin soft and fresh. I used it for the past 2 summers. Now that Kiehl's has so many new offering, I am trying skin rescuer this year.
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great as a spot treatment this works great for me as a night time spot treatment! i haven't found it to be overly drying, but like i said, i don't apply all over my face. i started getting big zits in my 20's (why??) but since i started using this, i haven't had anything truly hideous. i only use it on my nose, chin + anywhere a pimple seems to be forming. too bad i can't use it during the day b/c it can dry into a light white powder that balls up under other products. would buy again, except this will last me years as a spot treatment.
Date published: 2013-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but now with the toner. I tried using all 3 steps of this system a handful of times, and anytime I use the toner and moisturizer together, I get a white film all over my face and have to wash it off. I thought maybe I wasn't letting the toner sit long enough, but that doesn't seem to help. However, I'm able to use these products separately (i.e. another toner with the moisturizer, or the toner with another moisturizer), and the moisturizer really does what it claims: leaves a nice matte finish but doesn't feel overly dry for a mattifier. As someone who likes to use all products in a system, I'm bummed I can't use the toner and the moisturizer together (hence the lower score), however I do like them separately.
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Herbal Moisturizer I love this moisturizer so much! The smell is amazing (nice and minty), and the hydration is incredible! As this is one of Kiehl's most iconic products, it really lives up to the hype!
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product i have normal-oily skin, and I use this as my warm weather moisturizer. I sometimes break out in the warm, humid months, and this helps to control that and keep my skin moist. It's like a light gel cream. It smells a little herbaceous, but it's subtle and nice. My go-to summer daily moisturizer.
Date published: 2012-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Oil-Free Moisturizer I held off on buying this when I was trying the other Blue Herbal products because I wanted to make sure they worked, they are so I ordered this about two weeks ago and don't know how I lived without it! It is a great light-weight lotion leaves your skin feeling soft and not greasy feeling. I really like it for mornings as it makes for an excellent base if you wear liquid foundation, goes on more evenly. I was a little concerned about the price, but you only need a dime size if that. I also like that I can use the spot treatment and then put this all over without it making the spot corrector flake up or get gooey. Love this product!
Date published: 2012-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have used this product for years. Have used this product for many years - was suggested I use it years ago back when I had acne. I cannot stop using it because if love the smell and cool feeling of it on my face. I tend to use this moisturizer at night before going to bed.
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing! Smells refreshing/ minty. Feels clean and moisturized after use.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect moisturezer for acne I absolutely love this stuff! I have acne prone skin and this provides moisture but leaves a great matte finish on my face. Plus it smells awesome! Thank you Kiehls!
Date published: 2012-09-05
  • y_2019, m_5, d_22, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_57
  • loc_, sid_542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 83ms
  • reviews, product

Is this recommend for sensitive skin with occasional breakouts?

Asked by: Samantha Smith
Yes but I use as everyday moisturizer. Helps control blemishes and oily skin
Answered by: michael bequette
Date published: 2018-01-30

Can i use this for night and day? And which one is better? Using it at night or day?

Asked by: Anonymous

I have a very sensitive skin so I was curious if this would help with my acne breakouts? Thanks!

Asked by: Anonymous
My skin is also very sensitive with acne problem so I tried this. It didn't help to make acne go away but it was better than other moisturizer.
Answered by: HyeYun Park
Date published: 2018-01-30

Are there parabens and gluten in your products?

Asked by: Louisa Neetenbeek

Should I apply this before or after sunscreen?

Asked by: josh rhodes
general rule is to apply treatments first/closest to your skin and protection last
Answered by: erika bonfanti
Date published: 2018-01-30

does kiehl make an alcohol free facial moisturizer?

Asked by: Gregg Hernisey

Is this product safe to use during pregnancy?

Asked by: Anonymous

Is it really a moisturizer? The product details says it gives hydrated appearance to the skin. I'm using this product since it helps me with acne but I want to be sure I'm not loosing hydration on my skin or do I need another moisturizer to get hydration?

Asked by: Ferchu
Loosing hydration? Is that kind of like losing hydration?
Answered by: Evir Goldman
Date published: 2018-01-30

sdffsdsdffssfdsdf?

Asked by: Anonymous

At night, I wish to you this product with night recovery serum? Can these go together?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes I would say you can use them together. I would use the serum first then let it sit for a moment then use the moisturizer.
Answered by: Dorys Leal
Date published: 2018-01-30

Does this work on back acne (bacne)??

Asked by: Anonymous
Better to ask someone at Kiehls
Answered by: michael bequette
Date published: 2018-01-30

I have to put this product after or before the cleanser?

Asked by: Anonymous

if i use this blue herbal products, do i have to apply sunscreen? thank you.

Asked by: kit montenegro

Do you recommend this for the winter as well?

Asked by: Anonymous
It depends on where are you and your skin type. Basically not. It will dry out your skin. But if you have oily skin and live in a wet area, you can try.
Answered by: Yajing Chen
Date published: 2018-01-30

Does this product contain alcohol?

Asked by: laur lom

hi i am 35 year old African American, i hav now developed acne n i dont no what to use, my face only has acne on my cheeks. can someone recommend some products for me to use. Plz help?

Asked by: Anonymous
You sound like you're in the same situation as me. This is what I use--the entire line, and I love it! You should give it a try.
Answered by: Laura McShane
Date published: 2018-01-30

Are Kiehl products for acne prone skin, fragrance free?

Asked by: Anonymous
I'm 41, still have the occasional breakout, and I love this stuff. Since I started using this on a daily basis, "shininess" and breakouts are far less frequent.
Answered by: Mark Wilkinson
Date published: 2018-01-30

I have dry and sensitive skin, and I'm looking into buying this lotion, but I was curious whether this goes well under make-up or if it is too drying?

Asked by: Anonymous
it works great!
Answered by: Laura McShane
Date published: 2018-01-30
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_542, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 110ms
  • questions, product