Click to enlarge

Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence

An anti-aging facial essence formulated to reactivate skin’s youthful appearance.

Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence

An anti-aging facial essence formulated to reactivate skin’s youthful appearance.

Click to enlarge

Total: $45.00

Availability:

In Stock

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today
Pride 2019

Join us as we celebrate our
continued love
and support
of the LGBTQ+ community

LEARN MORE

Product details
This unique facial essence is an essential “first step” anti-aging treatment to help smooth skin texture, reduce fine lines and boost radiance. Enhance your routine with our efficacious skin essence to hydrate, exfoliate and prepare skin.
  • Hydrates skin while helping to smooth fine lines and improve texture
  • Helps activate skin’s exfoliation process for a smoother, more radiant appearance
  • Prepares and primes skin as a “first step” in an anti-aging skincare routine
  • Infused with Iris Florentina Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, and Lipo Hydroxy Acid (LHA)
  • Visibly improves the appearance of fine lines, dullness and rough skin texture over time
  • For all skin types
Print
How to Apply Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence
  • After cleansing, pour a few drops into the palm of hand
  • Gently press facial essence onto cheeks, forehead and chin areas
  • Apply before your usual skincare routine to help prime skin for serums and concentrates
  • Avoid contact with eyes
  • Can be used morning and night
Key Ingredients
Lipo Hydroxy Acid

Lipo Hydroxy Acid

Lipo Hydroxy Acid is a salicylic acid derivative that is known to help exfoliate skin. Within our formulas, this ingredient activates skin’s natural exfoliation process to help remove dull skin.

Sodium Hyaluronate

Sodium Hyaluronate

The sodium salt of Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate is known to be a moisturizing agent, viscosifier and emulsifier. Within our formulas, Sodium Hyaluronate helps hydrate, replenish and refine skin texture.

See Full List
Print
This unique facial essence is an essential “first step” anti-aging treatment to help smooth skin texture, reduce fine lines and boost radiance. Enhance your routine with our efficacious skin essence to hydrate, exfoliate and prepare skin.
  • Hydrates skin while helping to smooth fine lines and improve texture
  • Helps activate skin’s exfoliation process for a smoother, more radiant appearance
  • Prepares and primes skin as a “first step” in an anti-aging skincare routine
  • Infused with Iris Florentina Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, and Lipo Hydroxy Acid (LHA)
  • Visibly improves the appearance of fine lines, dullness and rough skin texture over time
  • For all skin types
Print
How to Apply Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence
  • After cleansing, pour a few drops into the palm of hand
  • Gently press facial essence onto cheeks, forehead and chin areas
  • Apply before your usual skincare routine to help prime skin for serums and concentrates
  • Avoid contact with eyes
  • Can be used morning and night
Print
Lipo Hydroxy Acid

Lipo Hydroxy Acid

Lipo Hydroxy Acid is a salicylic acid derivative that is known to help exfoliate skin. Within our formulas, this ingredient activates skin’s natural exfoliation process to help remove dull skin.

Sodium Hyaluronate

Sodium Hyaluronate

The sodium salt of Hyaluronic Acid, Sodium Hyaluronate is known to be a moisturizing agent, viscosifier and emulsifier. Within our formulas, Sodium Hyaluronate helps hydrate, replenish and refine skin texture.

See Full List
Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER! Hi! Truly I am not fond of writing reviews. BUT this time I have to pay my personal respect to creators of this magical essence. It makes my skin glow! You can put it under any cream, mask, face oil and it will sort of boost its performance. This essence brings smoothness, radiance to my skin and it also evens my skin tone. I recommended it so many times and I had so many "thanks") The deluxe sample is pretty big, you can use it for about 2 weeks and Kiehl's often has it as an offer to your order. So, do try it!
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Miracle Worker While looking for another product to up my game, I decided give the Iris Extract Treatment a try. This product does what it says. After only using the product for a few days I noticed a change in the texture of my skin, used in conjunction with the rare earth cleanser 2-3 times a week. The results yielded; minimized pore appearance, my skin felt well hydrated and rejuvenated. It’s too early to say anything about fine lines just yet but I have faith that it will deliver. It seems to help my skin absorb other products that follow. At night I layer midnight recovery concentrate, midnight recovery eye and the ginger leaf hibiscus firming mask with no problem. Another plus, a little goes a long way. I been using for going on two weeks now and you can’t even tell that I’ve used any product. I Highly recommend adding this to your daily routine. You won’t be sorry!
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it. I bought this product after using the sample. I find it refreshing and quite hydrating for the skin. My skin feels well prepped for the rest of my skincare after using this product. The bottle lasts a very long time as a little goes on a long way. I normally apply it with my hands and just press it into my skin.
Date published: 2018-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magical First let me start with I'm a Kiehls junkie and my medicine cabinet is full of their products. I received this as deluxe sample a few months back and was using it randomly with other products such as the Midnight Recovery Oil (another LOVE) the Line Reducing Concentrate, Super Multi Corrective Cream or Rosa Artica. Last week I was lazy and just put this on after washing up for the night. The difference in my skin the next morning amazed me. I thought I was losing it. I tried it again that night... incredible the next morning yet again. This is worth every single last penny. You only need a few drops of it. It works miraculously under my foundation - and I always have a problem with moisturizers and primers causing streaks or sliding off my face after a few hours. I am still going on the deluxe sample but will absolutely order the full size of this and pray to the moisturizing gods that Kiehls never stops making this. Hands down made the biggest difference in my skin care regime. My skin looks like it's glowing, it looks hydrated, the tone is even and it is so soft. MIND BLOWN. For reference I'm 43 and spent a lot of time in the sun thanks to military service. My skin is slightly combination with my t zone being the main area of complaint.
Date published: 2018-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this I was given samples of this and used it morning and night.. I visited my dermatologist and he commented on how fresh my skin looked. It's my favourite product
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So underrated! I found this by watching a Youtube Beauty Guru talk about how much this changed her skin, and I was shocked because I am an avid Kiehls user and never heard about it. I went to Nordstroms and picked up a bottle immediately and fell in love. I use it morning and night. I cleanse my face, tone (AM and PM), go in with this essence, and then continue with my serums and other products. It is watery, and not oily, and makes your skin look healthy and supple. I bought my bottle in February, and still have about 75% left, so it does last a long time. Kiehls needs to advertise this so much more! You see a difference. Please make a travel size version!!
Date published: 2018-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Kiehl's Product You Didn't Hear About I've been using Kiehl's products for years and only recently started using the Iris Extract Activating Treatment Essence, thanks to a deluxe sample I had picked up. I absolutely love it. After I wash my face, I use the Calendula Toner and then gently press the essence onto my skin. It feels refreshing and perfectly primes my skin for my serums. There's a ton of product in the bottle and you only need a few drops with each use. Amazing value! Already one of my all-time favorites from Kiehl's.
Date published: 2018-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results My sister gave me a sample (generous size) and after a couple of weeks my face was radiant. I love this product and have bought the full size. I cannot recommend this too highly!
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best decision ever! I actually stumbled across this product after browsing through the Kiehl's website. Initially, I was skeptical about this product because of the price. However, after reading the reviews I decided to give it a try and it seriously doesn't disappoint! I'm amazed how hydrated and smooth my face feels! I like the scent of the product, it's very light. Since it's an essence, I use this AFTER applying the Kiehl's Clarity Activating Toner. Really easy to use. I put a drop in my palm, rub my hands together, and then gently pat my face. I've been using it consistently for the last 2 weeks and I've been getting compliments on how radiant my skin looks. Can't wait to see the long term effects on my face!
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential step ! I used to use the Acai products - which became unavailable I believe. I was complaining of his to a friend who bought me this as a replacement. That first bottle lasted me a year used twice a day (or sometimes more if I have a complete revamp to go out.) I am now ordering my third bottle. I have sensitive skin that used to be prone to breakouts but is now much drier with age. I have always looked after my skin but time is inevitably taking its toll here & there ! Like other reviewers, I have (very occasionally) been without this product for a couple of days, thinking it was a little bulky to pack. Big mistake ! I definitely look a bit brighter, fresher & livelier after using it & it does seem to act as an ideal base for other products. I would love to try more Kiehls' products - I recommend them a lot & buy them as presents for the hard to please occasionally - but sadly I cannot afford to spend much on skincare at the moment. Should Kiehls need a tester for the baby-boomers here I am !
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Initially just to try, now Im obsessed Been using this for 9 months now, definitely skin feels a lot smoother. The only downside is how it is twice the price of their other toners. I use this with, midnight recovery oil, ultra facial balm, and avocado eye cream.
Date published: 2017-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tall glass of water for your uber thirsty face Think back to a time you’ve experienced heartbreak. Now pretend that right after your heart was broken a strange old woman comes and rubs liquid velvet on your face, hands you a plate of cookies, and compliments your outfit. That’s sort of how I’d describe this product. It feels AMAZING after you wash your face, and everything that once was lost, namely the natural facial lubricants you lost during cleansing, begins to regenerate. And then, as an added bonus, all of the products you apply after cleansing become super charged. Press 3 drops into your face after cleansing and toning. Your skin will thank you. Boom. Heart mended.
Date published: 2017-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Personally, has been ruining my skin I really really really wanted this to work out- I love the idea, especially in English winter that I can oomph up my dry seasonal skin. This has really messed me up- I've been trying to ignore it, and hope that my face will just adjust to it, but it's been over a month. My skin feels too oil-clogged (I only apply this and the oilless Kiehls moisturizer) it has broken out in fine whiteheads and bumps- I look 'chewed', especially on my cheeks where I applied it because of dryness. I usually have combination skin and haven't looked so bad since I was a teenager! Maybe my skin is too sensitive- I would stick away if your skin was sensitive too.
Date published: 2017-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! I use this product every morning after I cleanse my face and before I apply the Super Multi-Corrective cream. Hydrates without feeling oily. I let it dry thoroughly before I put anything else on. A little goes a long way, so the bottle lasts a long time. Skin feels hydrated and glows.
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great start in the morning I use this in the morning before I go down for morning prayer and meditation. Then after my shower I start with this before applying the Kiehls products I use. I repeat this at night and sometimes middle of day to freshen my face,. Thus extract is less expensive than the Japaneses product I was using. It is a product I plan on sticking with and thank you Kiehls.
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't go without it. I bought this product 1 yr ago on the recommendation of a Kiehls skincare person. I have used it in the am. everyday for the year. This product provides a moisturizing effect, a smoothing to fine lines and I feel it enhances the other products that I use daily on my face.. It provides a kind of barrier from the bad stuff that cause harm to the skin...Then, I stopped using it for 3 days only, (Trip) The difference that I felt in my skin were, daily lackluster of skin tone, make up fade and at nite noticeable dryness. Now, I read to use Twice daily, yay, I will be " on it", I can only imagine the good results using as directed. I love this product
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Important step I LOVE this stuff and agree with other reviewers that it doesn't get the attention it deserves. Why do I have to search for it on the Kiehls site? I'm always worried they've discontinued it. It's usually enough of a nighttime moisturizer for me during all but the driest part of the winter, brightens, exfoliates, and smells great. Doesn't interfere with any of my other products. And, as other reviewers said, it's an excellent value - a few drops every day, feels amazing, and the bottle has lasted forever.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Don't Know What Took Me So Long To Make This Part of My Routine! This is an unassuming but vital gem. I've been using this regularly for about two weeks, and my skin feels and looks better. Its affects are subtle, but if I forget to use it, I can feel the difference. I wonder if this product has truly taken off in the way that it deserves. It seems to get little attention by both Kiehl's and it's customers. Several Kiehl's employees have told me in person that this is their favorite product, and I can see why. It's super easy to use: you apply a few drops to your palm, rub your hands together, and press it into your skin. It should be the first thing that you do after cleansing and before toning. One bottle lasts an insanely long time.
Date published: 2016-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little Known- Big Results I received a packet sample of this product and didn't know what it was. I ended up applying it like a toner, probably using too much of it. But in the morning, my skin seemed more radiant and glowing. I love the scent of this product, it's very herbal and natural. It seems to be more of a serum so I imagine that a 6.8 oz bottle would last quite a long time, making it an economical purchase. I could never find this product on the Kiehls site, I had to do a search for it to even find it. Hopefully, it is being plugged more and will get more exposure since it's an awesome product that smells great and leaves your skin smooth and refreshed.
Date published: 2016-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it..! Not 100% sure what this is supposed to do but it smells great and it's become a staple part of my skin care routine now. It really freshens my face after cleansing and a little goes a long way.
Date published: 2016-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Skin is Glowing! I love this product. As an essence, you'll want to use this product after your toner, before your serum and treatment oil. I've noticed this only takes 1-2 drops to do the job - making this bottle last for up to a year. I've also noticed this product has brought more hydration to my skin and lightly exfoliated my skin. I've never seen my skin glowing as much as it does after using this treatment! Wish there was a smaller size
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without! I previously got a sample of this product, and loved the effect it had on my skin. I have since ordered a few bottles. It seems to be able to tighten and smoothen my skin over the course of only a couple of weeks. Impressed.
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! Apparently, this is what my skin craves. Bought this because I am always looking for something to improve my skin texture, clarity, etc. Within two weeks, I received 3 compliments on my skin -- from a friend (who also asked if I was pregnant, because my skin was glowing!), my mother (who notices everything), and a waitress at a restaurant. I have NEVER been complimented on my skin in my entire life before this, I usually have acne and acne scars, and my skin is either dry and dull or oily. I'm about 2/3 of the way through my first bottle, and my skin is the best it's ever been. Apparently, all it wanted was the right amount of exfoliation and moisture, and this magical formula provides exactly that. I use it morning and night, and transfer it into an eyedropper bottle, because the original packaging is not quite right. It's the first product I use immediately after washing my face, usually followed by the hydro-plumping serum (also a fantastic product).
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product very much! I love this product, already purchased three time. very rich essential location. Little sticky but perfect using before a toner for my combination skin. This is great performance and value.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why isn't this on every buzz list? I have been using this product for a few months now and consider it an essential part of my skin care routine. I have always had problematic skin - dry yet prone to break outs in addition to just general issues from aging to sun exposure. Since using this, I have seen a noticeable difference in my skin such that I feel totally comfortable with no make-up at all. In addition the wrinkles around my eyes are barely apparent. I think that this essence just makes the other products I use work better and conditions the skin to better absorb moisture. This is especially apparent on my lips which are chronically chapped. A few taps of essence and a lip balm and I am ready to go. I start with ultra facial toner, this essence, midnight recovery or line reducing concentrate and end with either crème d'elegance or skin rescue. Nothing too crazy, but the results are great. I truly attribute this to the essence.
Date published: 2016-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great as a First or Second Step after Cleansing Love this product! I have dry skin that can look dull at times. After trying this product from a sample I received, people started to compliment me, saying my skin was glowing. I noticed the difference when I ran out of the sample and my skin didn't have that same glow. Needless to say, got the full size as soon as I could. After trying this product, I realized the importance of the skincare steps: toner, essence/serum, and moisturizer. This product has the perfect viscosity for hydration between the toner and moisturizer. So highly recommend for dry skin and all skin types during the winter months.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oil free - replaced my moisturiser I love this essence! I got mine 4 months ago and the bottle is barely 1/4 used. I've problem skin and have used so many lotions and potions throughout the years however I think the best decision I've ever made was to replace my moisturiser with this product. It hydrates beautifully, leaving no residue on your skin and with my oily skin leaves my face radiant. In my thirties now I think it's also helped with fine lines around my eyes so win win
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Goodbye dry skin! I have a very dry skin problem and it worsen during extreme weather.This product keeps my skin mosturises and reduces redness on my face.It is water based and I really love the scent.It is a value for money.
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heavenly This is my favorite product maybe ever (together with the Kiehl's ultra facial cream)! It really makes the skin feel more radiant and fresh and even. I feel like I am hugging myself when I put this on. And it lasts for ages so totally worth the price.
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth the price I only have myself to blame: I caved in to the marketing and now I have a bottle of basically scented water that I splash on my face every morning. No bad effects, but I haven't noticed any benefits either. The only plus is that one bottle will probably last over a year.
Date published: 2015-11-13
  • y_2019, m_6, d_24, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_, sid_884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 10ms
  • reviews, product

Can you use this with the double strength wrinkle reducer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Absolutely!
Answered by: iamtiffanyny
Date published: 2018-07-01

Can this be used with Powerful Line Reducing Concentrate?

Asked by: Anonymous
Absolutely!
Answered by: iamtiffanyny
Date published: 2018-07-01

When do I apply this?

Asked by: Anonymous
Sorry I don't use this
Answered by: Gayle Pickering
Date published: 2018-01-31

Do I use before or after the toner?

Asked by: Ginny Burdick
After :)
Answered by: iamtiffanyny
Date published: 2018-07-01

Should I buy this??

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this product suitable for eye area?

Asked by: Duygu

Do you put it on under lotion?

Asked by: Anonymous

Does this product interfere with other kiehl's products?

Asked by: Anonymous

Should I use a toner before or after this product? I understand that this question was asked previously;however, the answers were ambiguous. So please provide a firm answer. Thanks in advance.

Asked by: Anonymous
I have always used a toner before applying any other products to my routine.
Answered by: Anne Lumetta
Date published: 2018-01-31

Can I use it while pregnant?

Asked by: Sabrina Laura

Do I use it before or after I exfoliate ?

Asked by: Anonymous
I would use it after. After I wash my face/exfoliate, I use a toner, then I use the Iris Extract, then put on any lotion/creams.
Answered by: Kristen Hansen
Date published: 2018-01-31

Could someone list all the ingredients? I have sensitive skin and get suspicious when companies do not provide a full list of ingredients.

Asked by: Marina Hassapopoulou

Should I wash it off or leave the product on?

Asked by: Anonymous
I leave it on.
Answered by: Alexis Leitgeb
Date published: 2018-01-31

Can you use this while pregnant? I've read salicylic acid is bad to use while pregnant (which this has in it)

Asked by: Anonymous

Safe for pregnant woman use?

Asked by: Vera Chan

Please tell me when to use Super Multi Correctional cream - day or nite?

Asked by: Anonymous

Should I use this before or after the Nightly Refining Micro-Peel concentrate?

Asked by: Anonymous
I use it before
Answered by: Connie YANG
Date published: 2018-01-31

Product is sticky?

Asked by: dawnette Reis
It is slightly sticky once it dries, but this product should be followed by other serums and a moisturizer, so it's not an issue.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2018-01-31

can a pregnant person use this product?

Asked by: shannon cheng

How to use?

Asked by: Anonymous
Just put a few drops on your hand, rub your hands together, and press it into your face. Allow it to soak up and dry before moving on to the next step.
Answered by: Anonymous
Date published: 2018-01-31

what about is the expiration? iris extract activating

Asked by: Anonymous

how long does it expire? I am meaning " iris extract activating"

Asked by: Anonymous
I'm not sure if you are asking how long you can keep using the contents of one bottle, or how long between when you apply it and when you apply the rest of your skin care routine. I am using the bottle I bought in May, and my skin has never looked better. I just wait a couple of minutes between when I apply th iris extract and when I apply the next layer of products, including dark spot corrector and Powerful Strength Line Reducing Concentrate.
Answered by: Elizabeth Hawkins
Date published: 2018-01-31

When do you use this in your skin care regiment and how much to you use?

Asked by: Anonymous
You use this after a toner and before anything else. Only a few drops needed. You rub a few drops in your hands and pat onto face and let dry.
Answered by: Laura Jefferson
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is this safe to use when pregnant?

Asked by: Anonymous

Can I use it during pregnancy? Ppl says not suppose to use anything includes Salicylic Acid, but this one has something called Capryloyl Salicylic Acid. Is it safe?

Asked by: Chris W

On the ingredient list their is no "iris extract" listed. Why is this product called IRis Extract?

Asked by: Pattie Smith

Is this similar to The Treatment Lotion by LaMer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Nope
Answered by: Chintana Chaiwan
Date published: 2018-01-31

Do I need to use a cotton with this?

Asked by: Anonymous
NO!!! If you applied it with cotton it would just soak up into the cotton. Put just a few drops in your hand & pat/press it onto your face.
Answered by: Yvonne Marone
Date published: 2018-01-31

Can you use this with the daily revising extract ?

Asked by: Janice Sotnikow
Absolutely you can use the iris extract before applying any of Kiehls serums or moisturizer's . It is very light and easily absorbed which allows any other product you use to also absorb easily. And in fact I think it preps the skin for the moisturizer. I follow the iris extract with powerful line reducing serum, then the midnight recovery and then the multi corrective cream. In the morning I use daily reviving serum.and of course a Kiehls eye cream either avocado or eye brightening,depending on the appearance of my eyes when I wake up in the morning. At night I use midnight recovery eye
Answered by: jacqueline valdes
Date published: 2018-01-31

is it suitable for all ages? or preferably 30 and above??

Asked by: Anonymous
All age :-)
Answered by: amy yu way chung
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2019, m_6, d_24, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_63
  • loc_, sid_884, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • questions, product