Click to enlarge

Clearly Corrective™ Dark Spot Solution

A dark spot corrector that helps visibly reduce dark spots, hyperpigmentation and post-acne marks.

Clearly Corrective™ Dark Spot Solution

A dark spot corrector that helps visibly reduce dark spots, hyperpigmentation and post-acne marks.

Click to enlarge

  • Select Size

Total: $52.00

Availability:

In Stock

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today
Spend More, Get More

Build Your Free
8-Piece Set

with any $115+ purchase

Start Here

Product details

A targeted dark spot corrector that helps boost radiance and improve skin clarity. Formulated with Activated C plus White Birch and Peony Extracts, this efficacious facial serum for dark spots helps visibly brighten skin and diminish the number and intensity of dark spots and skin discolorations over time.

  • Clinically-demonstrated* to help correct dark spots and discolorations
  • Visibly reduces a broad spectrum of dark spots including those caused by age and UV exposure
  • Helps visibly reduce post-acne marks and hyperpigmentation
  • Helps visibly brighten skin over time for a more even and radiant skin tone
  • Dermatologist-tested for safety and gentleness on all skin types, including sensitive
Print
How to Apply Clearly Corrective™ Dark Spot Solution

Key Ingredients
Activated C

Activated C

Activated C is a Vitamin C derivative known to help visibly reduce dark spots and prevent the formation of new skin discolorations. This potent form of Vitamin C penetrates skin quickly to help visibly even skin tone and improve clarity.

White Birch Extract

White Birch Extract

White Birch Extract is a sugar-derived ingredient known for its ability to restore hydration and nutrients to the skin. In our skincare products, this potent active ingredient works with Activated C to help even skin tone.

Peony Extract

Peony Extract

Used in traditional Chinese medicine, Peony Extract is a natural antioxidant that helps protect against oxidative damage. In our formulas, it works with Activated C to enhance skin clarity.

See Full List
Print

A targeted dark spot corrector that helps boost radiance and improve skin clarity. Formulated with Activated C plus White Birch and Peony Extracts, this efficacious facial serum for dark spots helps visibly brighten skin and diminish the number and intensity of dark spots and skin discolorations over time.

  • Clinically-demonstrated* to help correct dark spots and discolorations
  • Visibly reduces a broad spectrum of dark spots including those caused by age and UV exposure
  • Helps visibly reduce post-acne marks and hyperpigmentation
  • Helps visibly brighten skin over time for a more even and radiant skin tone
  • Dermatologist-tested for safety and gentleness on all skin types, including sensitive
Print
How to Apply Clearly Corrective™ Dark Spot Solution

Print
Activated C

Activated C

Activated C is a Vitamin C derivative known to help visibly reduce dark spots and prevent the formation of new skin discolorations. This potent form of Vitamin C penetrates skin quickly to help visibly even skin tone and improve clarity.

White Birch Extract

White Birch Extract

White Birch Extract is a sugar-derived ingredient known for its ability to restore hydration and nutrients to the skin. In our skincare products, this potent active ingredient works with Activated C to help even skin tone.

Peony Extract

Peony Extract

Used in traditional Chinese medicine, Peony Extract is a natural antioxidant that helps protect against oxidative damage. In our formulas, it works with Activated C to enhance skin clarity.

See Full List

what it is

A targeted dark spot corrector that helps boost radiance and improve skin clarity. Formulated with Activated C plus White Birch and Peony Extracts, this efficacious facial serum for dark spots helps visibly brighten skin and diminish the number and intensity of dark spots and skin discolorations over time.

what it’s good for

  • Clinically-demonstrated* to help correct dark spots and discolorations
  • Visibly reduces a broad spectrum of dark spots including those caused by age and UV exposure
  • Helps visibly reduce post-acne marks and hyperpigmentation
  • Helps visibly brighten skin over time for a more even and radiant skin tone
  • Dermatologist-tested for safety and gentleness on all skin types, including sensitive

key ingredients

Ingredients

Activated C

Activated C is especially known to help visibly reduce dark spots and prevent the formation of new skin discolorations. This potent form of Vitamin C penetrates skin quickly to help visibly even skin tone and improve clarity.

White Birch Extract

White Birch Extract is a sugar-derived ingredient known for its ability to restore hydration and nutrients to the skin. In our skincare products, this potent active ingredient works with Activated C to help even skin tone.

Peony Extract

Used in traditional Chinese medicine, Peony Extract is a natural antioxidant that helps protect against oxidative damage. In our formulas, it works with Activated C to enhance skin clarity.

SEE FULL INGREDIENT LIST

how to use

did you know

How to apply

Kiehl’s dark spot corrector is clinically-proven* to help visibly reduce:

Dark Spots Color by

Hyperpigmentation by

Post-Acne Marks by

-39% -49% -27%
Clearly Corrective™ Dark Spot Solution is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 438.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No affect for melasma or age spots As a disclaimer, I have no acne scarring so cannot say whether it works for that (a lot of people report success with it). However for melasma or any dark pigmentation like age spots, I've had zero success with this serum and noticed no difference at all to my skin tone or texture. I have been using it twice a day for about six months now. It seems to be a corrective for scar tissue rather than melanin over production problems. I love Kiehls and buy all of my skincare from them, but if hyperpigmetation is your problem this is not for you.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh After using it for the first few times I couldn’t see any changes to my dark spots. Would not recommend, just a waste of money!
Date published: 2019-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product changed my life This product worked soooo well for me. I'm on my 3rd bottle now. after just two weeks i saw a big difference in dark marks on my skin. I just wish it was cheaper
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one of my favourite serums =) I have used this last October of 2018 and it has always been on my skin care.I love how it feels when I apply it on my face. It is easily absorbed and non tacky. I love how it changed the texture of my skin. It made my skin feel smooth and soft. If I am not using it, like I missed a couple of days, I can feel a change in my skin texture. Also, it does not make me breakout which is a huge plus for me. I use it day and night. That is why I keep on repurchasing it. I am nearly on my third bottle now. I am only giving it a 4 because with the hyperpigmentation and uneven skin tone, it does help with the new scarring. It helps it heal, however with my old ones I can't see any difference especially my age spots which is starting to be visible now. I notice some brightening effects few weeks of using it.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for me! I have been using this product for about 6 weeks and it has definitely made a difference on my age spots around my eyes. It has lightened the small age spots to the point that they are barely noticeable! The larger ones are not as dark so I will continue to use and hope they will eventually disappear. I read the reviews before I purchased and some people said it didn't do anything for them. I guess everyone's skin is different but I have to say this product works for me! I will continue to use faithfully!
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have! My friends were raving about using this product a year or two ago, I tried a sample size and eventually bought a bottle. I popped a pimple a month before I started my bottle. I would use this on that pimple scar, and saw improvement. I love the scent from this serum and how fast the skin absorbs it. I would put this on first before my moisturizer. The only con about this product is: You can't travel with the entire bottle with you. Once the oil touches the top of the bottle, closing it can get tricky. The serum can spill in your luggage/bag.
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Packaging I want to ask the serum to change the packaging? I saw the word printed on the body without having to paste the paper. The texture is also looser than the previous bottle I bought. I don't know if I have to buy counterfeit goods or change my side. I asked my sister to buy it, I checked the batch code and saw production in March 2018. Hope kiehls will respond to me. thank you!
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I brought this a month ago and been applying 3/4 drops daily, it has improved texture and brightened my complexion. Love love it. And best of all my skin is combination and very sensitive, didn’t make me break out or irritate my skin at all.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from over-rated i bought this product after reading all the amazing reviews online and speaking with an employee at my local kiehls who highly recommended this product for my acne scars. i have been using this product for over a month and am basically at the end of the bottle and have seen little to no change in my skin texture or tone. this product worked for the first week, maybe. i saw some of my scars get lighter but after that nothing has really changed. i am deeply disappointed for spending so much money on a product that did not work.
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! First off skin type: African American gold undertone, with yellow highlights in the center, oily T- zone but gets very dry due to Arizona climate. So not a good combo to say the least. I love this product, I’m on my first bottle halfway through and it has cleared up my hyperpigmentation just as promised! I always had great skin until I hit my 30’s then hormones took over, so every time I get the tiniest blemish it leaves a scar that takes half a life time to clear up. This product works for me. I apply after regular washing with Ultra face cleanser in the am and pm, and put under my Ultra face moisturizer and cerave ultra light sunscreen with ceramides, niacinamide and hyaluronic acid. I use every morning and every night. I also incorporate kiehls turmeric mask. I think this also helps the product do its job.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have I bought this product a few months ago and have seen amazing results, I suffer from pigmentation from spots and the scars would last for months on end and then just when they start to disappear a new spot would appear, since using this product it has completely clear up all the dark pigmentation and I feel that it's helped to keep future spots at bay. I have had so many positive comments about how flawless my skin is looking! HIGHLY recommend this product! It will forever be a staple piece for me!
Date published: 2019-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not do what it says it does I used it for 3 months: - it did not correct the existing spots - it created more I was using a sunscreen
Date published: 2019-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works overtime This is a wonderful product. Takes a little time to start working but after the first month of use it brings your skin an even , brighter skintone. I absolutely love this serum.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have used this product since 2011 until now. It is one of the best I used in Kiehls
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really diminishes dark spots I have been struggling with hyper-pigmentation since pregnancy. I have tried several different product lines and types of products and nothing has worked. This product actually works (frankly, I wasn't expecting it to). I have used it for a couple months now along with the calendula cleanser and the Cannabis Sativa facial oil and the Super Multi-Corrective Cream with SPF 30 every day. I use the dark spot corrector twice a day. It has made a visual difference. The hyper-pigmentation on my jaw is completely gone and the areas on my forehead are noticeably faded and almost gone. I started using this on a spot from acne a couple weeks ago to see if it would help that as well, and the spot has also visibly faded in just a couple weeks. I love this product and will continue to use it.
Date published: 2019-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product works After 1 week already I can see my red spots cause by acne fading. I am consistent with use and I follow a very important step for preventing uneven skin tone,every day! Sunscreen!!! For those, who gave this product a bad review, I wonder...Did you use a good sunscreen daily? How much were you exposed to the sun? Because for those who only used this solution without preventing further damage, your reviews are irrelevant. Kiehls notifies that sun protection is a must for seeing results. Remember, even if it is a cloudy day, you need SPF. We cant sense the UV light, so we have a feeling our skin is safe. I dont fancy that it comes in a clear bottle and it is also not in a pump. A lot of ingredients are photosensitive and unstable when in contact with air. For the price I expect the product to be effective until I use the last drop of it ( of course until expiration date).
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing! I bought this product about 4 months ago and I am extremely happy with the results. I was a bit weary as it is quite pricey, and being black I wasn't sure if it would work on my skin tone, however I was pleasantly surprised as after 2 weeks I had already noticed quite a difference. Definitely worth the price!
Date published: 2019-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Most disappointing thing ever! Very disappointing to be honest! I don't recommend and my hyperpigmentation wasn't even that bad...but it literally didn't change the colour in 4 months! DO NOT buy it.
Date published: 2019-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really does work! I’ve been using this product at least once a day (usually twice) for about a month now. On the first use, I noticed a difference. I am about a third into the bottle and can not believe how much difference it has made to acne marks. I also have hyperpigmentation on my forehead and chin and clearly corrective has made a huge difference in evenning out the skin tone. I follow this with Kiehl’s SPF. I was given a sample of Kiehls cleansing wash and all three products combined have done wonders for my skin! I have not previously wanted to splash out on expensive cosmetics for my skin but having had friends and family comment on how good I look, it would be silly to not carry on!
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Overhyped, overpriced and disappointing I wish i could give it 0/5 instead of 1/5.... this is such an overhyped product. Used it for 9 months, twice a day and didn’t see ANY results.. i stopped using it eventually and i’m extremely disappointed. I naturally have a dry skin and take good care of it. Had a few dark spots on my chin area and on my cheek, and with all the “hype” i figured it would make my skin better. I don not recommend it at all! And im still looking for a serum to get rid of my pigmentations. Save your money, and avoid this.
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Skins smooth but still covered in red marks I bought this 3 months ago and have been using it every day and night in attempts to clear my skin of red post acne marks but have seen very little results. My skin is smoother in texture and this makes covering my red marks easier with make up. I felt like the product started making my skin tingle less as time went on which I thought meant that my skin was getting used to the product however after doing some research I found out some of the ingredients in the serum are uv sensitive and react with sunlight and are less effective which sucks because the bottle is clear and not protected in current packaging
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For oily skin, minor dark spots, post acne marks. Good product. If you have oily skin, this is a good product. If you expect this can eliminate your dark spots dramatically, this could be the worst product. If you have post acne marks, try this product. This serum contains hydroxypropyl tetrahydropyrantriol, which means it doesn’t only treat “dark spot” but also repairs your skin( also explains why it’s kind of expensive). I always read ingredient lists before I purchase. This particular serum actually has great ingredients. I can tell that it works as I expect. Vitamin C + hydroxypropyl tetrahydropyrantriol + salicylic acid=great combination. And I am a male customer. *** if you have many visible and serious dark spots, I recommend laser treatments.
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results I bought this product as I developed a small dark 'age spot' on my face. I can cover with makeup, but this serum has really helped to fade it. I use it all over my face now as a night-time treat, and I wake up with glowing skin. The age spot hasn't gone altogether but it is noticeably less and I feel less self-conscious about it.
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dont buy it Its expensive and it literally didn’t do anything to my dark spots. Waste of money!
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No good for age spots! I have been using this twice a day since November, with sunsceen to follow (applied after about 30 mins to enable this product to work) but it has had absolutely zero effect on my age spots. I'm really disappointed, it might be an okay (though expensive) serum, but if bought specifically as an age spot treatment it's a waste of money. Sorry, Kiehls!
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn’t work I bought this entire line to get rid of some hyperpigmentation from cystic acne scarring. I decided to give it some time to work, since most skincare doesn’t give immediate results. It’s been 6 months and I see only a slight difference between my photos from then to now. I’m at the end of the bottle, and man this product did nothing to help reduce my uneven skin tone. I’m pretty sure the money I spent for the cleanser, toner, serum, and moisturizer was money down the drain. It sucks because I’m usually such a big fan of kiehls, but this just fell short.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was Surprised It Actually Works I received a complimentary sample when I placed an order with Kiehl's. I was skeptical, but gave it a try. I patted on my visible dark spots and around my mouth only. The sample lasted about three weeks. I couldn't believe my eyes at how my dark spots were diminished with consistent use. While they haven't disappeared completely, they have lightened considerably. I am now planning on purchasing a bottle.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I was really hoping this product would work but unfortunately it didn't! I love the smell but it did nothing for dark spots and it's expensive. Definitely would not waste the money or time on this product.
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing I bought this serum for a few hyper-pigmentation spots i have on my chin from acne, I am beyond disappointed with this product. I used it for over a month..been patient and i cannot say i see a difference whatsoever i'm afraid. It is not worth the hype or the money! Better products out there to tackle hyper pigmentation with more results...def don't recommend it :/
Date published: 2019-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No real improvement... I’ve been using this now for around 3 months so am about half way through the bottle and have seen absolutely no improvements to my dark spots or acne scars. The only thing I will say is my skin looks overall brighter but the product did not get rid of any dark spots. Very disappointed as so many people gave great reviews. Just doesn’t work in my opinion.
Date published: 2019-03-02
  • y_2019, m_9, d_18, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_429
  • loc_, sid_842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • reviews, product

What is the difference between the Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution and the Nightly Refining Micro-Peel Concentrate? They both reduce acne scars but what's the difference?

Asked by: Laura Ketting

Can I use my serum and moisturizer over this? How long should I wait before I apply my face serum?

Asked by: Tirsa Burciaga
Yes, you can use a moisturizer over this serum. Wait 30 seconds to a minute until it dries on the skin before applying moisturizer.
Answered by: Kelly Brown
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this product cause peeling?

Asked by: tin dy
At least for me, no, this product does not cause any peeling.
Answered by: Elaine Fong
Date published: 2018-01-31

Hello, I have been using this product for a few months but still no changes on my skin spot at all?

Asked by: Janet Tan

Is this safe to use on top of AHA's ?

Asked by: Anonymous

How much should you apply? I seem to be applying too much - the texture stays for hours, and I don't think I can layer sunscreen or moisturizer on it.

Asked by: Anonymous

Does it expire? I can't see date on it

Asked by: Anonymous

Do you use this before or after sheet masks?

Asked by: A Z

Can i use thr serum during pregancy ?

Asked by: Suma Khan

I went to the store to ask for blemishes and acne lotion but was told to get the dark spot serum.. is there a connection ?

Asked by: Jean Bay

Does this product contain hyroquinone?

Asked by: Anjeanette Agro

Can I use this as a spot treatment only on my forehead, or will it cause lightening of only that area over time?

Asked by: Carly

Does any of your products come with a money back guarantee?

Asked by: Anonymous

Will this work for upper lip pigmentation?

Asked by: Stephanie Hernandez

What is the percentage of vitamin c?

Asked by: Anonymous

How can you help me with the right products via texts. Know of no store in my area that sells Kiehl. ??

Asked by: Rooster

what goes on first at night, midnight recovery or clearly corrective?

Asked by: Monica B

Does this product contain Hydroquinone?

Asked by: Anonymous

Does this product work if you have redness or hyper pigmentation?

Asked by: Anonymous

Will this correct ingrown hair scar pigmentation?

Asked by: Mbailly

Can I put it all over face even on areas where their is no discoloration?

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this product guaranteed and if so about how long should you use it to see results?

Asked by: Estell Davis

COULD I USE THIS WITH RETINOL?

Asked by: Anonymous

I have the following products, and wondering in what order should I use them? 1. Calendula Herbal-Extract Toner 2. Breakout Control Blemish Treatment Facial Lotion 3. Clearly Corrective Dark Spot Solution 4. Ultra Facial Oil-Free Gel Cream TQ.

Asked by: Alexis Teh

Is this product effect for black skin?

Asked by: Anonymous

Acne?

Asked by: Anonymous

CAN this help with freckles?

Asked by: Anonymous

Does this product expire? If so, how long does it last?

Asked by: Andreina Amengual

I have oily skin. Will this break me out if I use it ?

Asked by: Anonymous

Can it be used in hands?

Asked by: Anonymous
  • y_2019, m_9, d_19, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_302
  • loc_, sid_842, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 154ms
  • questions, product