Click to enlarge

Lip Balm #1

A moisturizing lip balm that helps soothe and smooth dry lips.

Lip Balm #1

A moisturizing lip balm that helps soothe and smooth dry lips.

Click to enlarge

Total: $9.50

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today
Spend More, Get More

Build Your Free
8-Piece Set

with any $115+ purchase

Start Here

Product details
Nourish and soothe dry lips with our moisturizing lip balm. Smooth on this balm to hydrate lips from dryness in the winter and around the year. A Kiehl’s classic since the 1960’s!
  • Smoothes and moisturizes dry lips
  • Formulated with Squalane, Aloe Vera, and Vitamin E
  • Also available in Cranberry, Mint or Mango scented lip balms
  • For lip care
Print
How to Apply Lip Balm #1
Key Ingredients
Squalane

Squalane

A signature Kiehl’s ingredient, Squalane is a highly-refined botanical lipid derived from olives. With an exceptional affinity to skin, Squalane absorbs easily and is known to help replenish skin’s barrier keeping it soft, supple and moisturized.

Aloe

Aloe Vera

Widely used for centuries in traditional and herbal medicine, Aloe is known to hydrate and soothe skin. Our Aloe is sourced from the leaf of the Aloe Vera plant.

Vitamin E

Vitamin E

Naturally occurring in plant leaves and skin, Vitamin E is known to help neutralize skin-damaging free radicals. In addition to antioxidant protection, Vitamin E is often used in moisturizing skincare products.

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germ Oil, extracted from the germ of the wheat kernel, is an emollient with antioxidant properties due to its high, natural Vitamin E content. It also contains Lecithin and a high percentage of essential fatty acids that are vital for healthy skin. It is also used as a natural preservative.

See Full List
Print
Nourish and soothe dry lips with our moisturizing lip balm. Smooth on this balm to hydrate lips from dryness in the winter and around the year. A Kiehl’s classic since the 1960’s!
  • Smoothes and moisturizes dry lips
  • Formulated with Squalane, Aloe Vera, and Vitamin E
  • Also available in Cranberry, Mint or Mango scented lip balms
  • For lip care
Print
How to Apply Lip Balm #1
Print
Squalane

Squalane

A signature Kiehl’s ingredient, Squalane is a highly-refined botanical lipid derived from olives. With an exceptional affinity to skin, Squalane absorbs easily and is known to help replenish skin’s barrier keeping it soft, supple and moisturized.

Aloe

Aloe Vera

Widely used for centuries in traditional and herbal medicine, Aloe is known to hydrate and soothe skin. Our Aloe is sourced from the leaf of the Aloe Vera plant.

Vitamin E

Vitamin E

Naturally occurring in plant leaves and skin, Vitamin E is known to help neutralize skin-damaging free radicals. In addition to antioxidant protection, Vitamin E is often used in moisturizing skincare products.

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germ Oil, extracted from the germ of the wheat kernel, is an emollient with antioxidant properties due to its high, natural Vitamin E content. It also contains Lecithin and a high percentage of essential fatty acids that are vital for healthy skin. It is also used as a natural preservative.

See Full List
Lip Balm #1 is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 224.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the jar! I am so disappointed that Kiehl's discontinued the jar. Why would you do that? It is one of your best products. Please bring it back. The tube is just not the same. I have been a product user for years and I couldn't believe it when the jar was discontinued.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Who is listening? Long time Kiehl’s product lover - but after suffering my own disappointment discovering the lip balm tub had been discontinued I had hoped it was just temporary. Perhaps a manufacturing problem with the tubs I hoped. But no - perhaps L’Oréal has decided the product line just isn’t strong enough to justify the alternative packaging. A shame - the reviews requesting a return of the tub are so numerous (and all responded to with a polite but milquetoast corporate reply) I wonder if they all fall on deaf ears. I won’t turn my back on Kiehl’s products yet - but my fear is another corporate buyout is homogenizing an otherwise standout product line. I certainly hope not.
Date published: 2018-10-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Product I actually really like this lip balm, especially in some of the scented flavours. My problem with this product is the packaging. You have to apply it to your finger and then apply to your lips - the product cannot be applied to your lips directly from the tube. Leaves me with a sticky mess after,
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from OMG Just received my bonus item today! What a disappointment. I have been a long time Kiehl's believer, but I am becoming more and more disenchanted with product changes. This, I feel, was the last straw with these guys...time to move on. K
Date published: 2018-08-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Come on Kiehl’s———- what the deal??? For over a year 95% of the reviews on this product is all about the JAR!!! We’ve been asking and asking. You keep saying you hear us, but nothing changes. This product is NOT the same in a tube, the jar is the only way to go! I have 1/2 of a hoarded jar left..... please please please bring back the jar. This is a 5 Star product that I have used for 20 years, please don’t make me find something else.
Date published: 2018-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Petrolatum is the first ingredient Although this product works well, I'm uncomfortable with the fact that petrolatum is the first ingredient listed on the back of the tube. Unless this ingredient is fully refined as white petrolatum (and I assume it's not since it's not indicated on the tube or on this website) - this ingredient is linked to cancer. When not fully refined, petrolatum could potentially be contaminated with polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons, or PAHs... a carcinogen. I'm a big Kiehl's fan, but will be refraining from this product.
Date published: 2018-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst lip balm ever I received this as a Christmas gift and at first it was great (despite the bad medicine tube design). However the consistency changed within 2 months of using it, so I put it in a drawer and forgot about it for a while. Stumbled on it today after another month and WOWZA! The stench when opening was so awful. It’s like something had died inside and was slowly decomposing. I did not know these types of products could expire so quickly! As a first time user of Kiehl products, this experience has definitely NOT persuaded me to try anything else. STAY AWAY from this tube!!!
Date published: 2018-06-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from PLEASE bring back the jar First world problem, I know. But why on earth are you not bringing back the jar? Do you not take all these reviews begging for its return seriously? I don't understand. Isn't that the goal of most businesses - to produce a beloved product with a huge cult following? There are no other products out there that can compare to Kiehl's #1 in a jar. It was perfection, and your company earned a lot of money from its sales, based on all the reviews begging you to bring it back. Wasn't that a win/win? The tube is nowhere near as good. Your responses to these reviews are all the same, and while I appreciate your sympathy, I really want my jar back! We all do! What gives??? Is there actually a legitimate reason you can't bring it back? Please listen to your customers!
Date published: 2018-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please bring back the jar as titled. the jar is so much easier to use//locate in a purse --, my kids especially prefer the jar over the tube (stop using as it is in a tube). Please bring back the jar!
Date published: 2018-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good lip balm but irritating packaging. This lip balm is great and works really well at reducing cracked lips, however, the packaging makes it hard to apply straight to the lips as it can become messy, and when I apply it with my fingers, it leaves my finger very greasy which isn't ideal. Would be perfect if it had a more rounded applicator tip.
Date published: 2018-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please, please please bring back the jar of Lip Balm! I've been using the lip balm in the jar(tub) since 1992 and am now distraught and dismayed that you can no longer purchase the lip balm this way. I consistently had a jar in every room of my house, in all of my bags and in my car. The lip balm in the tube is horrible in comparison. Now I don't know what to do. PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!!! I have tried all the other lip care products and nothing comes close to the lip balm in the jar. I buy all of my skin care/hair care products from Kiehls and I am upset enough about the jar of lip balm being canceled that I am very close to being done with Kiehl's altogether and getting my products elsewhere.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the pot! I have been waiting and waiting for the lip balm #1 to come back in the pot. The texture in the tube is different, it’s harder to find in my purse, and I can’t get every last drop of lip balm out of the tubes like I can out of the pot. I have been a loyal customer for decades and the lip balm was my first product that I fell in love with all those years ago. Please bring it back! I have stopped buying the lip balm #1 because it isn’t in the pot, but I haven’t given up hope!
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Agree with other reviewers! Please bring back the jar! This is a great product but I like to use the jar instead of the tube. Even my 80 years old mom refused to use the tube and has to change another brand. Please listen to your customer and bring back the jar.
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, horrible applicator I got this as a complimentary birthday gift, and now that I've used it for a few months I felt I could leave a review. The formula is good for chapped/dry lips, and it's really helped me this winter. It can stay on the lips a long time, but if I drink something I have to reapply it. The biggest issue I have is the applicator. The flat tip makes applying the product difficult, and most of it gets pushed off to the sides and into the grooves for the cap. Later on most of the product ends up in the cap. I do recommend it as it does a great job healing lips, and I want to buy it when I run out, but they need to change the applicator or redo the entire packaging before I do.
Date published: 2018-03-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bring back the jar. This tube is a mess in the middle of the night when I can’t see how much is squeezed out. I have loved the jar for years and years. Bring back the jar!
Date published: 2018-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please bring it back in a jar I preordered two jars of lip balm . And they are nearly consumed. I dont know where to find the alternatives !
Date published: 2018-03-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring back the tub Why change a product that people like and give them fewer choices? My husband & I used Kiehl's in the tub for years and were bummed last week when we tried to buy more. We bought the tubes instead but the texture is different, I don't think it's as emollient. Also, it is less friendly to use, you have to look at the amount you're squeezing out and when it get down to the end it is harder to use the product. If the tube gets warm it is likely to squeeze out too much. You can't just pick it up off the nightstand for dry lips in the middle of the night, you have to turn on the light to see the tube amount you are squeezing.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bring back the pot! I still have 2 pots hoarded, not sure what I will do when those run out. The tube is just NOT the same. Please, so many of us WANT the original jar why did you discontinue this of all things?
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Please bring back the jar This tube form of the lip balm isn't the same as the jar. I thought I could squeeze all the product out into an old lip balm jar and it would be the same, but the texture is different. I prefer the old product. It was a classic. Why fix what isn't broken?
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best lip balm EVER! From time to time i suffer from a tight and burning upper lip, its horrible, makes ur lip burn, hurts and is very dry and chapped the skin. This lip balm works within hourse and gets rid of the horrible burning sensation! It might be slightly expensive, but a little bit goes a long way, i threw out all my other lip balms as they were rubbish!
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please Bring Back the Jar! Even though the tube lip balm has the same name as the jar, it is not the same! I used the jar for years and I can't find anything that comes close. Please bring it back!
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holy Grail I got a sample of this with my last purchase and I love it. I had been using the EOS lip balm for years but I'm replacing it completely with this product. I use it liberally before bed and wake up with soft lips. Then in the morning, after I exfoliate my lips, I apply just a little bit under my lip color. Not only does it keep my lips moist, but it makes my lipstick look so much better!
Date published: 2018-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Treatment works After trying a ton of “okay” lip balms I can say after 12-18hrs I noticed a difference with the condition of my lips. At some point they became really dry and cracked but after just 12-18hrs the cracking began to heal. The only downside is the tube. I’d much rather it be rounded at the tip for ease of application and comfort and also not having to reapply the balm every other 20minutes but I guess it’s expected if you work in a role where you’re constantly talking. However im interested in trying the balm in the jar, seems to be all the rage.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the jar! For the past 5 years, the jar version of this lip balm was the only lip product I used. After being dismayed to discover that the jar version of this product had been discontinued, I tried the tube version (despite my natural aversion to using tube lip products - frankly, I don't want to be putting the lip applicator near my mouth every time I have to apply it) and was grossly disappointed. This is not at all on par with the jar version of this product. Please, please, bring back the jar!
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring Back The Jar!!! I hate this product in the tube!! Bring back the jar!!!
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the jar! Please bring back the jar! I have used the jar lip balm for over 20 years and do not know how to go about replacing it. I will not try the tube as all the reviews say it is not the same thing, and I will trust them. Why would you discontinue a basic product that you have had for years and years? Where is the reasoning in this? Change for the sake of change is never good. . .
Date published: 2017-12-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unpleasant to wear. Not the same as the Jar I've been using the jar version of this product for 15 years. When I went to pick up some more I was told they no longer make it, but the tube version was the same. It's not the same. The texture is too oily and runny. It actually feels unpleasant to wear. It's disappointing because I really enjoyed the jar version of this product, but this tube version will drive me to use your competitors products.
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back the Jar! Hi, I was told by the sales person that this is the same as the jar. Not so. I have purchased the jar faithfully for many years but have now switched to the small tub of Vaseline. It is not as good as the Kiehl's jar but much better than this. Please bring back the jar. Thank you.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only lip balm that works on my lips I always had problems with lip balms because they usually make my lips get drier... until I found Lip Balm #1!! I LOVE it. It works even in extreme temperatures. I totally recommend this product for people who have dry lips and get usually disappointed with regular balms. I will be my designated lip balm from now on. Ive read that the jar was better... I only try the tube and its gorgeous. I havent tried the scented balms either... just the classic one.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bring back the jar, PLEASE!! I have been using this product for over 15 years and absolutely loved it, in a jar. When I tried its tube counterpart, it simply did not measure up. The texture was runny and oily, and did not protect my lips for nearly as long. I was extremely disappointed that my old time Kiehl's favorite was taken out of circulation and hope that it would be brought back SOON!
Date published: 2017-12-08
  • y_2019, m_9, d_12, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_214
  • loc_, sid_307, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 89ms
  • reviews, product

The tube I just received says this has BHT in it, however the ingredient list on the website doesn't list it. Can you please confirm if it does contain it?

Asked by: Anonymous

Where is the lip balm #1 in the jar? That's the one that is my preference.

Asked by: Dianne Andrews

do you still have lip balm that is not in tubes?

Asked by: stephen luke
No.
Answered by: Tim Butler
Date published: 2018-01-31

I am devastated the jar of lip balm #1 has been discontinued. Any chance of it coming back?

Asked by: Anonymous

Will the 0.6 fl. oz. Jar edition come back? Really miss it.

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes. I miss it too.
Answered by: CHI LIM
Date published: 2018-01-31

Where is the jar? I prefer instead of the tube

Asked by: Meg Nolting

I've purchased this before in a 0.6 oz. jar with a screw on lid. I don't see that option on your website. I much prefer the jar to the tube. Is it available?

Asked by: Marilyn McLeod

How long can it keep?

Asked by: Anonymous

Where is Lip balm #1 in jar not tube?

Asked by: Anonymous

you use to offer the lip balm in a jar, I clicked on to select a size and it doesn't pop up?

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this Lip Balm #1 a cruelty free products?

Asked by: Soo Leng Teo
Yes
Answered by: Rika Inoue
Date published: 2018-01-31

Lip Balm #1 - is this a cruelty free product ?

Asked by: Soo Leng Teo

My Kiehl's lip balm comes in a jar versus a tube. Do you have that option on the website?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes. If you choose 0.5oz, it comes with a tube. However if you choose the larger size 0.75oz, it comes with a jar.
Answered by: Wei Chen
Date published: 2018-01-31

How long can I keep this lip balm? I've had it for a little bit more than a year now and I would like to know the expiration date of this product.

Asked by: Anonymous

I am pregnant 5 week and using lip balm #1 Can I use it ? Is it safe for my baby ?

Asked by: Warina

Shipping costs?

Asked by: Anonymous

My lip balm tastes rancid. Has it gone bad?

Asked by: Anonymous

pregnant woman can use this one?

Asked by: Anonymous

When I can get that?

Asked by: Anonymous

Will you please send me a sticker?? Thanks so much

Asked by: Anonymous

does this lip balm have spf in it?

Asked by: Anonymous

Does this come in a box?

Asked by: Beverly Sia
There are two kind of containers: one comes with tube with .5oz and jar with .6 ozs. I rather buy in thr jar due to I can control to howmuch I need to use it.
Answered by: geyoul kim
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this product contain vasaline/petroleum jelly?

Asked by: dee bee
I wouldn't know I never used it...it seem too greasy
Answered by: fabiene montoya
Date published: 2018-01-31

Do you have a list of your products that are "wheat free" ? I have a severe wheat allergy as well as sulfa, aspirin & many other chemicals & foods.

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this product no longer sold with the little foil seal? I have purchased several in the past month, and none have the little foil seal under the cap.

Asked by: Anonymous
The last time I purchased this lip balm, although I can't recall the date it was in the past year, if I am remembering correctly, it DID come with the seal. hope that helps! D
Answered by: Danielle Erwin
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is this paraben free?

Asked by: Anonymous

how much the weight of this product?

Asked by: Anonymous
i see there was a lip balm gift set, someoe asked when i would return....u didnt answer. someone asked about coconut lip balm u didnt answer.....i would like to know the answer to those two questions
Answered by: jennifer l
Date published: 2018-01-31

Do you still have the lip balm in a jar?

Asked by: Peggy Smith
No, I don't
Answered by: jun xu
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is your squalene coming from shark or fish or vegetable?

Asked by: Anonymous

Why does the lip balm#1 not have SPF 4 like the old one?

Asked by: Anonymous
  • y_2019, m_9, d_12, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_71
  • loc_, sid_307, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • questions, product