Click to enlarge

Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo

A shampoo that helps to effectively protect color-treated hair

Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo

A shampoo that helps to effectively protect color-treated hair

Click to enlarge

  • Select Size

Total: $19.00

Availability:

In Stock

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today

You're missing out!

Join Kiehl’s Rewards today

$1 spent = 1 point

Product details
  • Infused with sunflower oils, apricot, a fortifying blend of Vitamin B3, B5, and B6, and a UV-protective filter
  • Conditions and moisturizes dry hair for long-lasting color in between salon visits
  • Helps hair to retain its vibrancy with a smoother, more natural look and feel
  • Paraben-Free, Silicone-Free, Sulfate-Free
Print
How to Apply:
  • Apply shampoo to wet hair and massage uniformly with fingertips over entire scalp
  • Rinse
  • To ensure optimal color preserving rotection, we recommend following with Kiehl's Sunflower Color Preserving Conditioner
Key Ingredients
Apricot Kernel Oil

Apricot Kernel Oil

Apricot Kernel Oil is extracted from Apricot Kernels and contains Vitamin E and unsaturated fatty acids. Within our formulas, it helps moisturize and soften skin.

Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Oil contains beneficial amounts of Phospholipids as well as high concentrations of Ceramides. Its strengthening and protective agents help to further nurture and condition dry or damaged skin. The resilient Sunflower extract is also known to care for sun-exposed and aging skin as a result of environmental aggression.

See Full List
Print
  • Infused with sunflower oils, apricot, a fortifying blend of Vitamin B3, B5, and B6, and a UV-protective filter
  • Conditions and moisturizes dry hair for long-lasting color in between salon visits
  • Helps hair to retain its vibrancy with a smoother, more natural look and feel
  • Paraben-Free, Silicone-Free, Sulfate-Free
Print
How to Apply:
  • Apply shampoo to wet hair and massage uniformly with fingertips over entire scalp
  • Rinse
  • To ensure optimal color preserving rotection, we recommend following with Kiehl's Sunflower Color Preserving Conditioner
Print
Apricot Kernel Oil

Apricot Kernel Oil

Apricot Kernel Oil is extracted from Apricot Kernels and contains Vitamin E and unsaturated fatty acids. Within our formulas, it helps moisturize and soften skin.

Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Oil

Sunflower Oil contains beneficial amounts of Phospholipids as well as high concentrations of Ceramides. Its strengthening and protective agents help to further nurture and condition dry or damaged skin. The resilient Sunflower extract is also known to care for sun-exposed and aging skin as a result of environmental aggression.

See Full List
Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft hair This shampoo left my colored hair soft and shiny during a recent cold snap here in Michigan when my hair usually would have been dry and frizzy. I received the shampoo as a sample. Was supposed to get the conditioner also, but did not receive that. Is highly recommend the shampoo for color treated fine curly hair.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for dry colored hair I'm 57 and my colored (not bleached) hair is feeling its age, i.e., drying out. This shampoo and conditioner combo leaves my hair soft, silky and hydrated. It's expensive, but I gotta have it.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from left my hair dry After using Kiehl's superior skin care products, and being happy with the Smoothing Oil Infused Conditioner, I thought I'd give the Sunflower Color Preserving shampoo a try (I hoped it would work as it is less expensive than my usual Kerastase Bain Fluidealiste). I wasn't thrilled about it with the first use - even using it in the shower, my hair somehow felt rough against my fingers. I wasn't nuts about the smell of it either but decided to give it a real chance to see if it would be a good product for my hair. Over the next few weeks, my hair began to dry out, even though I hadn't switched any other part of my routine. I went to have my hair done this past weekend and the stylist commented that my hair seemed dry. Even my bangs feel a bit like straw, and I have them cut religiously every three weeks. I would sadly not recommend this product; this shampoo will be my first Kiehl's return.
Date published: 2017-08-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok but not great I have never found a Kiehls product that underperformed or was not fantastic but have to agree with Hihi and say I am disappointed with this shampoo. It does not lather. The shampoo soaks into the hair and disappears. It does eventually produce a light lather but it is hard work compared to the Olive Shampoo. Hair styles ok and is soft as you would expect so it must be working but struggles to wash off the Kiehls serum and hairspray in one go. Sorry but I won't purchase again.
Date published: 2017-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Lather This product made my hair feel soft. However, I have to use too much of it to create any kind of suds or lather on my thick, shoulder length hair. The fragrance is really nice. I probably won't be repurchasing due to the lather issue.
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Shampoo Ever! This is probably one of the best shampoo I have ever used. Let me first say that it smells so good that you want to eat it. It's delicious. Smells like summer time apricots. Second, this makes my hair basically feel like it came back to life. It's hard to explain, but I can't stop wanting to touch my hair and I've got so many compliments that it's insane. I wish there was a liter size of this product - seriously!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leaves a terrible waxy residue I'm so disappointed with this product. I purchased it after reading good reviews but the shampoo just does not clean my hair - no matter how long I rinse it in the shower I end up with a thick waxy residue around the roots that I then have to clean again with standard shampoo.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holy Grail Product I have been to heck and back trying to find a shampoo that works with my fickle, fickle hair. For the last four years I have been dyeing my hair red. I've tried everything from drugstore "color safe" products to higher end products like Bumble and Bumble and Living Proof. If it didn't make my ends like straw, it would make my scalp breakout into horrible dandruff, or make my color fade at a wallet damaging rate. I had finally settled on Bumble and Bumble, which worked, but the price and the effectiveness did not sit well with me. Fast forward to present day, I tried this shampoo on a whim. Mostly because it sounded like it smelled amazing (another problem I had with B&B). I'm so glad I did. Not only is it cheaper than B&B, it smells amazing (like Apricots), leaves my hair soft and shiny, and prolongs my red hair. Win, win, win! I have found my holy grail hair product! For reference I have dry, damaged, dyed red hair that is fine and prone to dandruff due to dry scalp issues. I wash my hair two to three times a week in cold water. I use Kiehl's Magic Elixir one to two times a week to combat the dry scalp I get from not washing my hair as often and the Kiehl's Sunflower Color Preserving Masque a couple times a week for my dry ends.
Date published: 2016-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love at first sight! I loved this product the first time I used it because my curly hair was softer, light, bouncy and very shiny. I have highlights and I don't have to worry about using this shampoo 3 times a week.
Date published: 2015-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No suds I gave this product multiple try's but just never felt like it got my hair clean. I much prefer the amino acid products.
Date published: 2015-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice shampoo Works really well with sunflower conditioner and smells beautifully, Highly recommended !!
Date published: 2015-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Results I've been using the Amino Acid shampoo for the past year and love that with the only qualification is that in the winter I need to use the conditioner as well or else my hair is a bit dry. The Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo leaves my somewhat dry hair with a great texture without using a conditioner. Now that we're into the summer months, I think I'll alternate between the two shampoos depending on the weather - I'll go with the Amino Acid shampoo on hot humid days and the Sunflower on all others. One caveat - the Sunflower Shampoo does not produce much in the way of suds - I need to use 50% more than I do of the Amino Acid one to get similar sudsing. I imagine I'll be going through it a bit quicker as a result but both last a long time - don't just look at the upfront cost - when you figure out the daily cost it's really insignificant to have nice hair.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Awesome! This shampoo and pairing conditioner have worked wonders for me. Both hair and scalp feel great! I have fine straight highlighted long hair and every time I wash it with this shampoo and conditioner it feels even better! its Awesome and smells even better.
Date published: 2015-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Sunflower Effect! I walked into my local mall with dead looking, dry and flat hair. I took a chance on Kiehl's Sunflower Shampoo and Conditioner, as I was desperate for my hair to regain it's body and shine. I saw remarkable results the very next day: my hair was shiny, soft, smooth and looked like healthy hair should. I highly recommend this product to anyone with colour treated hair, well worth the price. Smells lovely, lathers enough to get the job done and a little goes a long way.
Date published: 2015-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sooo good i am age 47 my hair is frizy course and dry i also colour my hair, i have tried a lot of shampoos and hair products, but with this shampoo i hair is on the mend i can feel a difference in the condition it is gentle yet does make my hair feel clean, so pleased i have discovered it. thank you
Date published: 2015-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my hair after first use I used this product along with the sunfower conditioner. It has made a noticeable difference to my hair after one use. I have fine, highlighted hair and have a hard time balancing drynes/itchy scalp s and oiliness. This product improved the look and texture of my hair immediately and enhanced my highlights. It also smells great (apricot)! I almost never leave product reviews--but I was very impressed and my scalp feels much better after just one use.
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Excellent shampoo, makes hair soft and shiny and helps keep the colour.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shampoo for Color Treated Hair This shampoo washes out easily and smells really fresh.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product! BUT... This shampoo smells amazing and cleans the hair very well. I usually dont like to condition the top of my scalp, but after i use this shampoo i have to. my hair feels a little rough after i rinse and hard to brush. Looks great when I blowdry it though
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great sulfate free shampoo! After going through MANY organic and other sulfate free shampoos, I've finally reached the one I will keep! The Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo smells great and makes my highlighted hair look fantastic. I have somewhat greasy hair (I can go two days between shampoos but have to use dry shampoo on the second day) and it didn't weigh my hair down at all. I'm not sure about the reviews that stated the shampoo didn't suds for them - I used a normal amount of shampoo and it suds great and thouroughly cleaned my hair. A fantastic buy!
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great smelling cleansing shampoo I was convinced to try this shampoo on a visit to the Kiehl's flagship store in NYC. I wanted something for coloured hair, as I'd recently switched from blonde to brown and the stuff I used previously was specifically for blonde hair. My favourite thing about this product is the smell - it has a strong apricot fragrance, which amazingly lasts once your hair has been rinsed and dried. I've never found a shampoo that actually keeps its smell once your hair is dried. It makes my hair really soft, and the colour also lasts beautifully. The only drawback to this is that because it's sulfate and sodium free, and thus great for your hair, it won't foam as well as a standard shampoo - you may need to do a double wash before conditioning. (I know lots of people are put off by shampoos that don't produce a lot of foam as they don't feel their hair is getting clean as a result.) If you do double wash, don't make the mistake of using loads of product; halve your normal amount for each wash, you really only need a small blob, and I usually find the second wash the shampoo foams much better.
Date published: 2013-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I absolutely love this product. My hair is in much better shape since I started using this product. I would recommend this product to anyone who colors their hair.
Date published: 2013-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Shampoo for color treated hair I use both the shampoo and conditioner and just love it. I have tried others, but found this really does wonders for my fine hair. I also like the mild scent, it's fresh and clean. Rinses really well and eliminates that static in the Winter months. A little goes a long way. Have been using it religiously for two years now.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious smell! I love this shampoo and it is the only one I have used for the last couple years. Great for colored hair, leaves me soft and clean, and smells delicious! My only complaint is that it doesn't suds up very well, so if my hair is particularly dirty I have to use a lot to get it clean.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything i was looking for!!! i recently colored my hair and i scoured the internet trying to find a shampoo for color treated hair. i spent so much money on the process, so i wanted something that was going keep my tresses the honey blond that i set out for. the reviews online were mixed, but after reading the ingredients list, i felt it was worth a try. i brought the travel size so the investment was small i'm very happy with this product! one review i read was that the shampoo didn't suds. i didn't have that problem at all. i am a black women with curly kinky hair that is very moisturized before shampooing. as soon as i applied this shampoo it lathered up, in luke warm water mind you. It cleaned my hair very well. my color looked great as well. if you have any doubts, trust my review because i need a very moisturizing shampoo to keep not only my color supple, but the overall health of my hair in tact. thank you keihl's for this product!
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I have dry, color-treated hair that easily becomes brittle, and quickly gets greasy after 2 days of not washing it. I tried this stuff, and I LOVE it! It lathers nicely (unlike some complaints I've seen), my hair feels super clean, nourished, and healthy - even 3 days after washing it! I pair it with the conditioner, and I've been very happy with it. I started with the smallest bottle just to try it out, and I went out and bought the biggest bottle with no regrets! I'm very happy with my Kiehl's experience so far. They just might have a new loyal customer! :)
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to love this.... ...but I had to return both the shampoo and conditioner. I have color-treated hair and typically wash every other day. With the Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo I found myself needing to shampoo every day to get rid of that icky greasy hair feel. Some reviewers also mentioned the lack of lather and needing to use more product than they thought - I also had that same problem. I am a huge fan of many of the Kiehl's products so naturally I thought the shampoo would be terrific but alas, it wasn't to be.
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shampoo! Ohhh! I love this shampoo! It works well especially when you use it with the conditioner. The first time that I used it one of my friends told me that my hair is so shiny that he wanted to touch it with his hands... Just to make sure it's real, I guess! Hahaha! Plus, the scent is soooooo good that my husband can't stop smelling it... I love Khiel's and one you start using their products, you won't stop!
Date published: 2012-10-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me. My mother and I went into the Kiehl's store very excited to try their shampoo. She wanted a shampoo for moisture while I wanted one more for color. After buying the biggest bottle of this shampoo, it ended up being a waste. It does not clean the hair AT ALL. I would have to use a handful of shampoo just to do the top half of my long hair. Also, it leaves your hands smelling awful. The only positive thing about this shampoo for me was the way it smells in the bottle and the matching conditioner.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's not to like? I just started using this shampoo & it is awesome! The fragrance is so fresh & light, it makes me look forward to washing my hair! As with most sulfate-free shampoos, this does not lather excessively. The first time I used it, I used quite a bit on my mid-length hair looking for it to lather up (never happened). The next time, I used a quarter-sized amount & it cleansed just as well, so a little goes a long way! I have fine, color-treated hair & this is seriously amazing at preserving the color and keeping my hair shiny, healthy & manageable.
Date published: 2012-09-13
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_8
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_, sid_789, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 123ms
  • reviews, product

Can someone post the ingredient list please?

Asked by: Anonymous

Im looking a shampoo that safe for pregnancy i found out that this has salicylic acid.i dont know if this is safe or not?

Asked by: Anonymous

Does this shampoo contain panthenol?

Asked by: Anonymous
Yes it does. Probably the best shampoo I have used for keeping my highlights fresh and keeping my hair looking great !!!
Answered by: Shelly McMahan
Date published: 2018-01-31

Previously tried this and almost no lather... Left hair not so clean-feeling and flat. Has this changed?

Asked by: Anonymous
It never lathers much, but my hair does end up clean. From reading other reviews, I have the impression that most Kiehl's shampoos aren't very lather-y.
Answered by: kim hah
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this shampoo contain methylisothiazolinone?

Asked by: Anonymous
No, it does not.
Answered by: jeanne najemy
Date published: 2018-01-31

Are any conditioners sulfate free?

Asked by: Anonymous

Is this shampoo gluten free?

Asked by: Tracey Clair

Is this shampoo good for hair that is colored red? I find the red strips out afterr just a few shampoos when I use other brands.

Asked by: Lesa Gonzalez

Is there any alcohol in this shampoo ?

Asked by: Jennifer Johnston

Is this shampoo ever available in the liter sized bottle with a pump? Would you recommend for baby fine color treated hair?

Asked by: Amanda Hamilton

What is the ph balance?

Asked by: Sue Cross

Does the a Sunflower Color Preserving Shampoo contain lanolin?

Asked by: Amy McMillen
In looking at the ingredients on the label, lanolin is not listed.
Answered by: sandra simon
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does this product contain nanoparticles?

Asked by: Anonymous

Wiil this give me enough moisture? I have bought the Olive Fruit Acid previously but finds that it sometimes is too heavy. I like the fact this is silicone free. Thanks

Asked by: Anonymous

How well does this work with platinum blonde?

Asked by: Alyssa Paretta

does this shampoo contain sodium chloride?

Asked by: Anonymous
According to the list of ingredients on the bottle, yes, it does contain sodium chloride.
Answered by: Jodette Peltier
Date published: 2018-01-31

What is the conditioner like?

Asked by: Anonymous
Awesome conditioner (and the shampoo too)! Very hydrating especially for color treated hair, yet does not weigh hair down. Controlls the friz too! Highly recommend!
Answered by: Michele Tessier
Date published: 2018-01-31

What is the best shampoo for someone with psoriasis on the scalp?

Asked by: Anonymous
  • y_2019, m_5, d_24, h_8CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_23
  • loc_, sid_789, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 100ms
  • questions, product