Click to enlarge

Musk Essence Oil

Kiehl's Signature Scent

Musk Essence Oil

Kiehl's Signature Scent

Click to enlarge

Total: $35.00

Availability:

In Stock

*You have chosen to pick up your item in store. If you would like to ship items to your home, you must create a separate order or modify the entire order.
Pick Up At A Nearby Store Today
Skincare Saturday
Product details
Our Original Musk Oil is believed to have been created in the 1920's at the "Kiehl Apothecary." Discovered there in a vat labeled "Love Oil" in the late 50's, Kiehl's signature scent was reintroduced to our patrons in 1963.
Print
How to Apply:
  • Directly apply to skin
Key Ingredients
Print
Our Original Musk Oil is believed to have been created in the 1920's at the "Kiehl Apothecary." Discovered there in a vat labeled "Love Oil" in the late 50's, Kiehl's signature scent was reintroduced to our patrons in 1963.
Print
How to Apply:
  • Directly apply to skin
Musk Essence Oil is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 91.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing I bought the oil based perfume to go with the shower gel and body lotion, for an oil based perfume it is surprisingly weak and does not seem to last. The roller ball applicator does not allow much out either. When I bought it the spray which is more popular was out of stock. I wonder whether you get more of a back note hit with that one? I read some reviews from people who had used the kiehl's on musk before who said they thought the formula has been changed and I think they must be right. The oshower gel and body lotion are still good though.
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WHAT HAPPENED TO MUSK OIL It would really be great to get an honest answer on why the original musk oil is now a watered down version and all the other oils were discontinued. It is so insulting that all the complaints are answered with a generic line. All these people can't be wrong, I know I'm not. I wore the musk and cucumber for over 30 years so I know. I think people would be willing to pay more if that's what it took but to be constantly condescended to is beyond annoying. I have spoken to a rep on the phone who also read a script assuring me that nothing has changed. Nobody is fooled .................
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The mystery of the missing original musk essence oil Decades ago, Kiehl’s discontinued my signature scent, (Moroccan) Jasmine essence oil...since then, I bought the Original Musk Essence Oil. Which became my (second) signature scent. Unfortunately, unlike the Original Musk Essence Oil of days past, the scent does not last all day, no more than a few hours. Plus, there’s a stronger floral top note that was mostly absent in the Original Musk. What Kiehl’s/Loreal has touted as the using the same essence oil is counter to how pure essence oils work with one’s individual body chemistry and body heat. In the past I would dab the Original Musk on certain pulse points in the morning and would never need to re-apply it. It is obvious to many of your long-time customers that an inferior essence oil is being used. And is an example that the high level of quality is now lacking (in this particular product line)
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from But why? Why would a company that makes such great products, put out this inferior one? Had this been my first Kiehl’s purchase, I would never have purchased another product from them again. This was a complete waste of money. I might have well have purchased a bottle full of air and pretended it smelled like the original musk. If you can get any of the oil out of the poorly designed bottle, you can smell it for about ten seconds if you get your nose right up to where you rolled the oil. I have the spray version and although it does not have very long staying power, it is many times a better product. I’ve barely used it and I’m wondering if I should just toss it. It is that ineffective. Please Kiehl’s, do yourself a favor and get this product off your site. Right now, I’m hesitant to try any more of your products for a while. Of course, I can’t return it, now that I’ve tried to use it. Bummer.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kiehls original musk oil Very disappointed there is no fragrance. Will not buy again and am sending the bottle back
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Same Scent Revisited. One of a kind! My 'odor-evoked autobiographical memory' notices no change in scent. I wore this musk throughout the aughts and beyond, until it mysteriously slipped away to become unavailable. I missed its no-nonsense, sultry, subtle, earthy opulence. It's my secret answer to not liking perfume; I mix a tiny bit with unscented olive & aloe body lotion. I've been told many times, "I like that you don't wear perfume and just smell good." Exactly. Kiehl's Musk Oil is je ne sais quoi in a bottle. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2019-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kiehl's Musk Oil - Disappointed I've been using Kiehl's Musk oil for years now and it's no longer the same formula. The scent is barely there and the oil has been diluted. No doubt about it. The quality of the original Kiehl's musk oil scent hasn't been the same since French Loreal bought Kiehl's in 2000. And now it's become even worse the quality is no longer the same.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just love it! So I’ve seen previous reviews saying that the formula has changed; however, I personally LOVE this stuff! I can’t imagine what it smelled like “before” because I think it smells amazing right now. The oil is thick and really moisturizing and of course, smells heavenly. I will be buying bottle after bottle of this!
Date published: 2019-04-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just about to re-order I was just about to order another bottle of the Kiehls Musk Oil when I saw all the negative reviews of the change in fragrance. I doubt that all these long-time users can all be wrong, so I think that either the formula HAS been changed (although the company is denying it) or that the quality of the ingredients has changed for the worse. I gave it a two star rating because I believe the other users but the little I have remaining in my bottle from a couple of years ago is lovely. I am putting off buying again until I see better reviews and a resolution to this issue. Kiehls, just fix it!!!
Date published: 2019-04-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please listen to your customers I, along with a million other Musk Oil lovers, have worn this scent for over 20yrs. What the heck happened you guys? Please just cut the nonsense and bring back your amazing product the way we all remember it. You have loyal fans that want to stay loyal.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This smell has changed. I spend about $2000-3,000 a year on Kiehls between myself and my lady. (unfortunately just became a rewards member) . I recently bought this in March and immediately noticed something was OFF. I even compared the scent to the same musk or what appeared to be the same musk from Kiehls 6 months or so ago and it smelled not as strong and even slight pungent. I then asked my lady to smell, same concencious. I’m no fool.. not that degrees matter but I am an MBA and Financial Advisor studying for my J.D, and also is my lady. I don’t want excuses, I just want this fixed, please. Whatever you guys changed, please revert back to the original formula. In fact, please call me. This is pretty serious. I loved this stuff.. and now.. it’s not the same. Please respond and get in touch with me.
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the Original Regardless of what responses say, all your customers can't have gone smell-blind all at once. There are too many people who claim the scent has changed from the original to keep telling them it hasn't. I am another one who knows the smell is not a little different, but very different. It went from being thick and musky to floral,soapy, and almost unfit for a man's cologne. I still have a bottle of what I thought was Musk Oil I bought at the NYC flagship on 3rd Ave a decade or more ago, and it smells nothing like the new bottle I received today. Maybe it wasn't the "Original Musk" that I bought way back then. I can't tell because the bottle is only marked with the Kiehl's name, address, and 7C041X. Please help us out. Either by releasing that scent again or at least confirming that we are not crazy and something has changed. Otherwise, we will all either continue to buy this product thinking it's what we want and be disappointed or reject Kiehl's altogether because you keep telling us we're mistaken about the formulation.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wheres the MUSK GONE TO? I am 68 years old, and l have been wearing your original musk since l was in my 20's. IN THE LAST 2 (TWO) YEARS EVERY TIME I GET IT THE SMELL WAS EXTREMELY WEAK, IF IT SMELLS AT ALL! ITS ALL OIL. YOU HAVE TO DUMP THE WHOLE BOTTLE ON TO GET ANY SMELL. AT ALL! THIS WAS A DEVINE SMELL.! A LITTLE DAB WAS ALL YOU NEEDED AND PEOPLE WOULD ASK ME : " WHAT IS THAT, WHERE CAN I GET IT, YOU SMELL GREAT! THEN I WOULD REFER THEM TO YOUR STORE OR WEB. NOT ANYMORE THERES NO SMELL. WHY DID YOU CHANGE THE FORMULA??? IF IT AIN'T BROKE DON'T FIX IT!!!! LOOKING AT JOE MALONE. SCENT IF YOU DON'T FIX THIS! AND I HAVE BEEN A LOYAL CUSTOMER!! FIX THIS
Date published: 2019-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from *****Doesn't smell the same as "Original" Formula***** SO... much to my excitement, I got an email notification from Kiehl's on 1/31/19 that this was back in stock! I figured Kiehl's had finally read all the pleas to bring back their best selling oil(although Cucumber was my most favorite). I immediately went online & ordered it. I just got it today, opened it up and my first thought was it smelled a little off and the oil somehow didn't even feel as thick as it usually is. I put it on my wrists and rubbed them together and it almost evaporated for lack of a better description. For the past few years, I have been stockpiling my Musk Oil & purchasing it on eBay when I can find. I still have one of my original bottles I purchased in the NYC Kiehl's store 7 years ago. ALL the bottles(4) I have smell the EXACT same. This bottle I received definitely smells different. More like heavy powder and "old Lady-ish". NOT the good clean quality Musk I'm used to from Kiehls. I did another test today with my original Musk on one wrist and this new one on the other wrist. Absolutely not the same. What a let-down... I can't even express how disappointed I am. Also interesting is that this is now out of stock again? (although the roller ball is still in stock as of 2/4/19) If Kiehl's is "testing" a new formula, I think they're going lose a lot of people who were loyal to this fragrance. I used to live around the corner from the original apothecary on the lower east side on 3rd Ave in NYC and became a Kiehl's junkie back in the late 90's- it really bums me out to write this review. Just my honest opinion!
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from changed scent I have been wearing this for 20 years and ordered 2 bottles since i heard it was discontinued. they arrived and smell completely different WHAT HAPPENED?????? this oil=Kiehl's How can you discontinue/ change the scent?!?!?! PLEASE BRING THE ORIGINAL BACK Thanks
Date published: 2019-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this oil fragrance I can only wear oil fragrances and this is my favorite one. Can you at least keep it in the online store?
Date published: 2019-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please bring this back!!! Please, please, please, bring Original Musk oil back. I have worn this scent over 20 years and I don’t feel like I’m me without it. Only the original musk oil will do...not the lotion, not the perfume spray, not the rollerball...this product clearly has a loyal following. Keihl’s do the right thing, listen to your loyal customers. Bring back the original musk oil!!!
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CAN WE GET THIS BACK in STOCK? I am a LOYAL Musk Oil consumer and I have purchased thousands of dollars of this product. This is my only scent I use and I don't like the cologne spray. This is my signature scent and I buy in bulk. When will this be back in STOCK. Please let us die hard fans know. THANKS.
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MUST BE REINSTATED!!! This is my FAVORITE product - I went online to buy more, and its no longer in stock! Please bring it back - I get compliments every single time I wear it, by boyfriend loves it, I adore it, I have no back up plan!!! Please please please!!! If I would have known I would have bought a case!
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Original Musk Oil I am overjoyed to see I am not the only longtime user of OG musk oil who is terribly sad to see it out of stock. I have not been told by my local counter that it is discontinued, thank god I would have cried loud and messily right in public. I’ve worn it almost exclusively since 1997, have tried the rollerball and spray and I find them not scent-y enough. I’m signed up to be notified when it comes back in stock AND I HOPE LIKE A CHILD THAT IT DOES COME BACK IN STOCK. Please, nothing I’ve tried in the last two months is right and I don’t enjoy other scents because they don’t smell exactly like my beloved kiehl’s original musk oil.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from BRING BACK THE ORIGINAL MUSK OIL! When I ordered TWO bottles of Musk Oil from you I truly believed that I was purchasing the same product that I had previously loved for years and waited far to long for. WRONG! Whatever you've done to alter the scent it doesn't work. It breaks down horribly, resembling the smell of rust. PLEASE bring back the original scent or you will lose this customer.
Date published: 2019-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRING IT BACK!!!!!!!!!! As everyone has mentioned this is so much better than roller or spray. Please bring it back!
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SERIOUSLY!?!?!? YOU"RE DISCONTINUING ONE OF YOUR BEST PRODUCTS I've been using the musk oil for five years as my primary fragrance and beard oil. Recently, with my stock quickly depleting, I went to stock up. They informed me the product was discontinued! What? It literally ruined my day and has left me in a funk. Why would you discontinue such a highly desired product? This product has kept me coming back to Kiehl's over and over and I sincerely hope you bring it back.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why did you discontinue it?? I can't express how disappointed I was to find out that your original musk has been discontinued! I have worn this fragrance for over 20 years, and always get compliments on its scent. Why would you do away with something that is so popular? I'm on my last bottle, and now I have to try and find something similar. Please, please bring it back!!
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addicted to Musk You must get this back in stock, PLEASE!!
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed. I’ve worn this for 20+ years. Last year I bought a couple vials only to find that they had virtually no scent. Literally smelled like nothing. Returned them with hopes it was a bad batch. Then it went interminably off sale, out of stock everywhere. I assumed Kiehl’s had messed with the formula, realized that everyone noticed, and was working to restore the original. Happy Day when I got alerted that it was back in stock. Sad Day when I received it, only to find that it still wasn’t right. Powdery and soft. Not at all like it used to be. I returned it. Now it’s back to out of stock everywhere. How disappointed I am that this signature product, and one that I and so many others really love, is apparently gone forever. I don’t understand it. Why did you ruIn it? And why can’t you just go back to the original formula? Raise the price if you have to, but give the people what they want! Bring it back. Restore the original formula. I, for one, will abandon you, completely, Kiehl’s, if you fail to right this gigantic mistake. Your customers love this product. Bring. It. Back. Thanks.
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS IS A TRAVESTY!!!! DISCONTINUED???????? Are you KIDDING ME??? I went to my neighborhood Kiehl’s shop to buy a couple of vials of my FAVORITE scent, Original Musk #1, only to find out its being discontinued!!! This is an absolute OUTRAGE and a definite TRAVESTY!!!!!! What are you thinking, Kiehl??? PLEASE bring this oil back IMMEDIATELY!!! I cannot express my disappointment enough. Such a sad state of affairs...
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Original and Only Musk Oil you will ever want Been wearing this for over 30 years! I love that it can be worn alone or mixed with any lotion Have always received compliments when wearing it My boyfriend loves "my smell"! Please dont discontinue this product It HAS to be one of your bestsellers
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only fragrance I wear This musk is absolutely the most incredible fragrance. Can blend with your unscented lotion to desired intensity - a great feature if you work in an area where your scent must be subtle. I ALWAYS have complements when wearing it. Thank you for this wonderful product. Hope you get it back in stock soon! KJ
Date published: 2018-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You cannot be serious!!! You cannot be discontinuing this product!!! I have worn musk oil for nearly 50 years!!!! Originally I was able to buy REAL musk oil, obtained from a musk deer. When this practice became illegal, I searched till I found a musk oil which felt "right." This was Kiehls musk oil. Such a lovely scent. It truly is ME. How can you even consider depriving me, and many others, from having this product? PLEASE get it back for us ASAP!
Date published: 2018-11-18
  • y_2020, m_2, d_25, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_91
  • loc_, sid_1591, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • reviews, product

Where can I buy Essence of Rain? Bottled like Musk--but this was the best fragrance!

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi there! Unfortunately the Essence of Rain has been discontinued and is no longer available for purchase. To see the fragrances that we currently offer, please refer to the following link: https://www.kiehls.com/body/fragrance/ We hope this helps and that you can continue to use our products with great satisfaction!
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-05

I am looking for a 1960's type scent, pure musk essence oil spray or cologne for my husband, not a roller applicator; where is this product on your website? Can you advice me please?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi there! Thank you for your interest in our Musk Essence Oil. This product has aromas of Bergamot Nectar, Orange Blossom and – of course – Musk. We hope you found this information helpful!
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-10

Did you change the formula? It smells the same as I remember, but does not last as long as it use to.

Asked by: Donna Pylant
Hi Donna! We are sorry to hear that you did not have the same results as you had in the past. We appreciate you sharing, and we will be passing your comments along to our team. Thank you for reaching out!
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-13

Did Kiehl's change the musk oil from the 60's version? When I wore it in the 60's the scent seemed as if it lasted much longer, than the current version. I can hardly smell it after a few hours.

Asked by: Anonymous
I have been wearing kiehl's musk since the 1960's and I believe you are correct. I was always able to smell the musk all day and sometimes into the next...not so with recently purchased musk. Unfortunately after all these years I will be looking for a new signature musk scent.
Answered by: sandra orlando
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is this GMO free?

Asked by: Anonymous
We can assure you that our products go through extensive testing to provide the best and safest possible products for our consumers. The ingredients we use are selected because of their record of safety for use by the consumer. We continually evaluate the most current information about our ingredients. Each and every ingredient used in our products has been thoroughly reviewed and tested by our internal safety team made up of toxicologists, clinicians, pharmacists and physicians. If you would like more information regarding this subject you will find complete information at www.cosmeticsinfo.org. This website contains safety information about cosmetic products, their ingredients and how they are tested and regulated.
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-13

Ingredients list?

Asked by: MELANIE MARTIN
Hey There! Thank you for sharing your interest in our Musk Essence Oil. We suggest checking the ingredient list on the product page under 'Key Ingredients > See Full List'. We hope this information helps!
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-14

Did this product get changed when the company was bought ?

Asked by: Kevin Barnes
Yes
Answered by: maria battaglia
Date published: 2018-01-31

How do you apply this? Since there is no applicator or dropper and the opening is rather large what's the best way to apply it? I currently use the EdT and wanted to use this together to boost the smell.

Asked by: J H
I use it everyday. I just invert the bottle and put a drop on my finger and I dab it on my wrists, behind my ears, backs of my knees. It stays on all day. I love it!!!
Answered by: Patricia Moore
Date published: 2018-01-31

Does the essence oil vail come with Orifice Reducer ?

Asked by: J H
For mass distribution, Kiehl’s uses minimal packaging and incorporates PCR materials into packaging for shipping when possible. Ecommerce and gift sets require more protection to ensure quality delivery to the consumer, so sometimes additional packing materials like paper and shred are needed. PCR materials are used for this purpose whenever possible.
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-21

Looking for a musk oil to replace "Skin" musk original scent by Bonnie Bell which is no longer available. Might you be able to send me a sample of your musk? Many meals on the market there smell too sweet. Thanks

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi there! Thank you for your interest in our Kiehl's fragrances. We regret to inform you that this product is discontinued and no longer available for purchase. We hope you found this information helpful!
Answered by: KiehlsCCC
Date published: 2020-02-21

What other Musk Oils did Kiehl's offer about ten years old, I recollect a Musk Oil by the name of Patchulli, is it still around?

Asked by: Anonymous
Patchouli and musk are two completely different fragrances. I do not know if patchouli is still on the product line.
Answered by: MARY DANOFF
Date published: 2018-01-31

What are the ingredients in this product? Phthalates? Sulfates?

Asked by: kathleen johnson

Can this be layered? I have a musky perfume that doesnt last long. Can i use this w it to make it last longer?

Asked by: Anonymous
Oh, yes. Since I started wearing musk oil in 1968, I have used it as a base for other favorite perfumes, creating my own personal fragrance blend. Experiment with your own favorite perfumes. If you love it, they'll love it.
Answered by: MARY DANOFF
Date published: 2018-01-31

Where is your musk oil derived from? Please tell the provenance of this musk oil. I would be so greatful. Sincerely, Cynthia

Asked by: Anonymous

How much is shipping to 98802 please?

Asked by: Kristin Liebrich

Does the Musk Oil have any floral scent at all? I'm hoping this is just musk oil without any other sent in it like musk oil perfume has.

Asked by: Anonymous
No. It is purely musk and the best musk oil out there by far!
Answered by: Elizabeth Arlen
Date published: 2018-01-31

What ingredients are used to make the musk oil?

Asked by: Ann Maxwell

Someone suggested the Musk Oil in the roller ball bottle is not the same as the one in the regular bottle -- true?

Asked by: Anonymous
no
Answered by: Henry C Irving III
Date published: 2018-01-31

Where can I buy this? Besides online? I live in the east bay walnut creek ca area

Asked by: Alka Anand

How to use oil as a home fragrance?

Asked by: Anonymous
I'm sure Musk oil could be used as a burning oil. Try it with a few drops of water in an oil burner and change the concentration as necessary. Good luck!
Answered by: Ryan Manon
Date published: 2018-01-31

does this smell the same as the Eu De Toilette Musk that are being sold at Bloomingdales, Nordstroms,etc.? The .7 oz spray.

Asked by: Anonymous
Only if it's kiehls musk oil It's the best I've found and have been wearing it for over 15 years I get asked all the time what the name of this fresh scent is
Answered by: Debra Shinn
Date published: 2018-01-31

is the original sent back...was discontinued for a bit?

Asked by: Jameella Nuur

Is the musk oil made with animal products?

Asked by: CK Wilde
Yes
Answered by: Thomas F. Jr Sizemore Jr
Date published: 2018-01-31

How is this scent made? Does it use animal products? Thanks!

Asked by: Anonymous
There are no animal products in the modern version of musk oil.
Answered by: MARY DANOFF
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is this perfume anything like the original Coty Wild Musk Oil?

Asked by: Anonymous
I dont think it is. I think Coty is more powdery than this
Answered by: MELANIE MARTIN
Date published: 2018-01-31

does it contain oil from the testicles of the musk ox?

Asked by: renee butler

Is this still made in the USA? It is very different than the original. I'd hate to see that it's being manufactured in another country.

Asked by: Anonymous

do you have smaller sizes? You used to have a small roll on bottle of the musk oil is it still available?

Asked by: Lynne Fricker

can men use this fragrance without it being too "girly" smelling?

Asked by: Michael Wood
I like the fragrance. I find d the musk earthy with a touch or sweetness. I dont like girly scents and wouldn't call Kiehl's that. Lynne
Answered by: Lynne Seabloom
Date published: 2018-01-31

Is this oil the original musk of the 70's?

Asked by: Anonymous
P.S. the oil use to be a little thicker than it is today.
Answered by: Lyman Jones
Date published: 2018-01-31
  • y_2020, m_2, d_25, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_38
  • loc_, sid_1591, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_kiehls
  • bvseo_sdk, undefined, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 73ms
  • questions, product